Speed for rotational axis.

If you have a question about the software please ask it here.

Speed for rotational axis.

Postby danut1234 » Tue Nov 14, 2023 5:25 pm

Hi, i don't understand why the command from below respect the feed speed when the axis is configured as Cartesian, and does not respect the feed speed when configured as rotational axis, and goes max speed for that axis. I understand that Cartesian is in mm units and rotational is degrees... but it does not respect them. Homing the rotational axis respects the speed.

UC100.AddLinearMoveP(null, null, null, 20, null, null, 10, 1);

What i am doing wrong?
danut1234
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2022 9:26 am

Re: Speed for rotational axis.

Postby danut1234 » Thu Nov 16, 2023 10:42 am

If i add another parameter (in this example Z), like the one below, it works, respects the speed. The A axis when configured as rotational axis and a command is sent only for A axis (i did not tested B axis) the speed is not respected, and it goes at maximum speed from the settings.
Is this normal?


UC100.AddLinearMoveP(null, null, 20, 20, null, null, 10, 1);
danut1234
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2022 9:26 am

Re: Speed for rotational axis.

Postby dezsoe » Thu Nov 16, 2023 11:13 am

When you set the axis to rotational then it follows the other axes. This means that the rotational movement happens while the other axes move, it follows them.

The rotational mode for the axis will not switch it into degrees. If you want to program any of the axes in degrees then you have to set the steps/units value to the steps/1 degree. (Steps/full rotation divided by 360.)
dezsoe
 
Posts: 2093
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:41 pm
Location: Csörög, Hungary

Re: Speed for rotational axis.

Postby danut1234 » Thu Nov 16, 2023 1:59 pm

thank you

i am almost sure that i have missed something...
danut1234
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2022 9:26 am

Re: Speed for rotational axis.

Postby danut1234 » Thu Nov 16, 2023 2:16 pm

The problem are not the degrees, mm, or other units. Although there is a variable in the Axis settings that makes it possible for the board to return a value for rotational axis in the range of 0-360
I don't understand the concept of "following the other axes" can you explain?

UC100.AddLinearMoveP(null, null, null, -20, null, null, 100, 1);
and
UC100.AddLinearMoveP(null, null, null, -20, null, null, 0.0001, 1);
makes a movement at the same speed, the maximum speed from the settings for A axis.
do you understand the problem?
Jog-ing A axis configured as rotational works normaly.
danut1234
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2022 9:26 am

Re: Speed for rotational axis.

Postby dezsoe » Thu Nov 16, 2023 2:38 pm

I'll try to explain it another way. You have the standard 3 axes and a rotary, the A. You want to engrave a spiral: X has to move 100mm and A 90 degrees. In standard mode when you start G1 X100 A90 F100 it will move very slowly, because it calculates the speed with both X and A. In rotary mode the X will move at 100 mm/min and while the X moves the A will turn 90 degrees, but the speed of A is not set by the F. The A follows the other (not rotary) movements. That is why A will run at max. speed if only the A is moved, because it has to do its movement in 0s, because there's no not-rotary movements.
dezsoe
 
Posts: 2093
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:41 pm
Location: Csörög, Hungary

Re: Speed for rotational axis.

Postby danut1234 » Thu Nov 16, 2023 3:02 pm

So it was made intentionally that Rotary axis do not respect the commanded speed? The speed parameter is just ignored? The Rotary axis does not need to go to the commanded position in 0S, it needs to go with the commanded speed in how many seconds it needs.
danut1234
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2022 9:26 am

Re: Speed for rotational axis.

Postby dezsoe » Thu Nov 16, 2023 3:09 pm

It has to move to the commanded position while the other axes move. So the time is calculated from the other movements.
dezsoe
 
Posts: 2093
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:41 pm
Location: Csörög, Hungary

Re: Speed for rotational axis.

Postby hmnijp » Fri Nov 17, 2023 3:49 pm

danut1234 wrote:So it was made intentionally that Rotary axis do not respect the commanded speed? The speed parameter is just ignored? The Rotary axis does not need to go to the commanded position in 0S, it needs to go with the commanded speed in how many seconds it needs.

maybe you should look at the G93?
it was invented to avoid discrepancies between feeds in mm and in degrees when using rotary axes. In G93 mode, the parameter F is not the speed, but the time during which the movement must be made in each line
hmnijp
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2021 12:59 am

Re: Speed for rotational axis.

Postby smouritsen » Mon Jan 01, 2024 8:19 pm

I came here facing the same question. I can't believe you can't control the speed of the a axis by itself. In my case I want to cut a groove in a cylinder, so no movement in the x direction, but 360 degrees rotation of the a axis. It seems really odd to me that I would have to control the speed of this operation by setting the max speed in settings. In Mach 3 I could just do G1 A360 F10 for example, and it would respect the speed parameter. Is this really not possible with UCCNC? Or am I reading this thread wrong?
smouritsen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2024 8:05 pm

Next

Return to Ask a question from support here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests