Page 1 of 1

uccnc turn questions

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2024 6:30 pm
by Socke
i'm on 1.2117 right now, using the fusion pp from Joachim mentioned here: https://www.forum.cncdrive.com/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=4708&start=30
I have an a-b-index encoder directly mounted to the spindle. The spindelspeed is pid-controlled by uccnc, which works well.

questions:
1. How do we setup the tools? On my lathe at work (Mazak) it's diameter, length, tool-radius etc. In uccnc I can imagine, what x and z are for, but where do i put the tool-radius? And what about threading and grooving tools?

2. threadind doesnt work. The machine stops right at the threading line. No error, and no stop. Spindle keeps running, but nothing else happens. I tried G33 like this:
Code: Select all
N320 G0 Z-23.975
N321 X11.665
N322 G33 Z-43.493 K1.5
N323 X12. Z-43.829 K2.121

and also G76 like this:
Code: Select all
N110 G76 P1.5 Z-43.854 I-18. J0.3 K1.5 Q0. H1. E0.75 L0


3. tool-radius-compensation gives me an error:
Code: Select all
N2250 G0 X42. Z5.
N2260 G96 D4000 S200 M3
N2270 G1 Z-0.549 F1.
N2280 X11.497
N2290 X9.282
N2310 G42 X6.014 Z-1.463
N2320 G2 X0.007 Z-1. I-3.007 K-9.537
N2340 G1 G40 X2.435 Z0.414

leads to the error
Error: Arc, out of G17 when in R compensation, line:xxx


any help is appreciated

Re: uccnc turn questions

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2024 12:30 pm
by cncdrive
Tool radius compensation is not working yet in the lathe version. I mean it works on XY only, but lathes need different compensation algorithm and on XZ axis which is not yet implemented.

G33 and G76 should work, we tested them both.
If the threading does not start and the controller is waiting then it is likely that the Index signal is missing or the spindle encoder A/B channels are reversed causing the spindle encoder to count to the wrong direction, changing A with B pin should fix it then.

Re: uccnc turn questions

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2024 6:55 pm
by Socke
cncdrive wrote:changing A with B pin should fix it then.

it did indeed, thank you!

Ok, so no radius compensation, that means, that has to be done in Fusion. Is this on the near by todo-list?

Now how do I discribe the tools correctly?

I guess, changing the x-offset should change the diameter of the workpiece. But will 1mm change the diameter in 1 or 2mm?

Another question: Is there an on/off switch for optional stop M1? I can't find it in the turning-screen.

Re: uccnc turn questions

PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2024 8:07 pm
by cncdrive
Yes, we have it in the nearby todo list.
Currently we working on fixing the bugs in dev.version 1.2117, because we want a stable release and after that we will start implementing this too.

Re: uccnc turn questions

PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2024 3:23 pm
by Socke
Ok, in addition to my questions:
Socke wrote:Now how do I discribe the tools correctly?

I guess, changing the x-offset should change the diameter of the workpiece. But will 1mm change the diameter in 1 or 2mm?

Another question: Is there an on/off switch for optional stop M1? I can't find it in the turning-screen.

I've got an additional one:
I've got the tool-turret on the-y-axis, which works fine, but G28 moves x, y and z, so my tool-turret rattles like mad. Is it possible, to exclude the y-axis from G28?

Re: uccnc turn questions

PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2024 9:00 pm
by cncdrive
No it's not possible but you could write a macro and execute that instead of G28, like:

exec.Code("G0 X0 Z0");

or

exec.Code("G0 X0");
exec.Code("G0 Z0");

Or whatever coordinates are your reference coords and whatever sequence you need.
Put this into a macro file in the macros folder, name it e.g. M300, and then you can call M300 instead of G28.