Page 1 of 2

Fusion360 5 axis

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2020 1:54 pm
by TadasM
Hello Gents,

I have a question regarding 5 axis machining using UCCNC (Uc300eth), and fusion360. I have updated to the newest post-processor (downloaded from Autocad web) and can get toolpaths with "Tool orientation" without problem. But when it comes to simultaneous axis I get an error (swarf toolpath):

Code: Select all
###############################################################################
Error: Error: Section.getInitialToolAxisABC() is not allowed for section.
Error at line: 1
Error in operation: 'Swarf1'

Stack dump:
("Section.getInitialToolAxisABC() is not allowed for section.")@:0
onSection()@c:\users\mitku\appdata\roaming\autodesk\fusion 360 cam\posts\uccnc (1).cps:721
Failed while processing onSection() for record 376.
###############################################################################

Error: Failed to invoke function 'onSection'.
Error: Failed to invoke 'onSection' in the post configuration.
Error: Failed to execute configuration.
Stop time: Monday, March 30, 2020 1:46:59 PM
Post processing failed.


I'm very new to 5 axis machining, I'm trying to run the "Swarf" toolpath generated in the Fusion360, but can't post to Maschine due to an error. Could anyone please help to figure?

Thank You

Re: Fusion360 5 axis

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2020 12:30 pm
by kawarider
Well, this is very interesting. I didn't know Fusion was ready yet for real 5 axis cnc. Can't help you, but really interested what anyone reports.

Fusion does a top job on 3 axis, but if you ad one axis things are getting very complicated.

Re: Fusion360 5 axis

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 1:24 pm
by NikolayUA24
And you activated and configured the machine in the postprocessor.
https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/ ... otion.html

Re: Fusion360 5 axis

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2020 6:14 am
by TadasM
NikolayUA24 wrote:And you activated and configured the machine in the postprocessor.
https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/ ... otion.html


Nope, I did not. Thank you for the info. I will give it a try, will report back :) Maybe someone has already modified post for 5 axes simultaneous?

Re: Fusion360 5 axis

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2020 8:39 am
by NikolayUA24
TadasM wrote:
NikolayUA24 wrote:And you activated and configured the machine in the postprocessor.
https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/ ... otion.html


Nope, I did not. Thank you for the info. I will give it a try, will report back :) Maybe someone has already modified post for 5 axes simultaneous?

I doubt that you will find a ready-made solution. If only the kinematics of your machine will coincide with a ready-made solution.
English site. https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/fusion-3 ... -p/8043593

Re: Fusion360 5 axis

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2020 4:22 pm
by TadasM
NikolayUA24 wrote:
TadasM wrote:
NikolayUA24 wrote:And you activated and configured the machine in the postprocessor.
https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/ ... otion.html


Nope, I did not. Thank you for the info. I will give it a try, will report back :) Maybe someone has already modified post for 5 axes simultaneous?

I doubt that you will find a ready-made solution. If only the kinematics of your machine will coincide with a ready-made solution.
English site. https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/fusion-3 ... -p/8043593



My 4th axis is "B" (around Y-axis) and 5th axis is "C" (around Z-axis). The configuration as per your provided link:
5 axis, B rotates around Y, C rotates around Z, directions both positive:
var bAxis = createAxis({coordinate:0, table:true, axis:[0, 1, 0], range:[-360,360], preference:1});
var cAxis = createAxis({coordinate:0, table:true, axis:[0, 0, 1], range:[-360,360], preference:1});
machineConfiguration = new MachineConfiguration(bAxis, cAxis);


Can't get it to work with simultaneous axis movements... (3+2 is no problem though)

Re: Fusion360 5 axis

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2020 6:38 pm
by NikolayUA24
TadasM wrote:Can't get it to work with simultaneous axis movements... (3+2 is no problem though)

Find out if UCCNC supports RTCP (Rotary Tool Reference Point)

Re: Fusion360 5 axis

PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2020 5:31 am
by NikolayUA24
Video Kflop runs UP in RTCP mode.
https://youtu.be/XVrsO89hoV0
I can’t insert video on the forum
Learn how to enable this mode in the fusion360 post processor.

Re: Fusion360 5 axis

PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2020 10:36 am
by NikolayUA24
Fusion360 5 axis UCCNC Postprocessor
Lastly, adjust optimizeMachineAngles2() depending on whether or not your machine has TCP capabilities for 5 axis simultaneous machining.

optimizeMachineAngles2(0); // TCP enabled (eg. M128, TRAORI, G43.4, G243)
optimizeMachineAngles2(1); // TCP disabled (eg. M128, TRAORI, G43.4, G243)
By default, the mode is disabled

Re: Fusion360 5 axis

PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2020 1:32 pm
by TadasM
NikolayUA24 wrote:Fusion360 5 axis UCCNC Postprocessor
Lastly, adjust optimizeMachineAngles2() depending on whether or not your machine has TCP capabilities for 5 axis simultaneous machining.

optimizeMachineAngles2(0); // TCP enabled (eg. M128, TRAORI, G43.4, G243)
optimizeMachineAngles2(1); // TCP disabled (eg. M128, TRAORI, G43.4, G243)
By default, the mode is disabled


Nikolay, thank you for your suggestions. I will try to make things working :) Thank you !