Page 1 of 2

reset z to zero

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 5:14 pm
by netdude
How can I reset z to zero or another value via macro or code? I have capacitive sensor for plasma THC that i use for initial sensing of material. I want to then turn off THC, set Z to either zero or 0.125 (1/8 inch) and adjust Z up from that height to 0.175 or some value via Sheetcam for it's pierce height setting. Sheetcam also will lower to cut height, so both of these need to have proper zero set to reference from.

Re: reset z to zero

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 1:42 pm
by netdude
Great! Thx for the help.

Re: reset z to zero

PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 12:45 pm
by asuratman
That is expensive to find surface of material using cap THC ? Why not using floating head ? After finding the surface, then ignite flame torch. Sheetcam will continue controlling to cut. I'd like to know the macro if anybody here want to share ?

Re: reset z to zero

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 5:55 am
by asuratman
Using SheetCam it can put all this into teh Gcode for you so it is automatic . It will find top of material with either G31 or G28.1 then apply G92Zxxx then raise Z G0 Zxxx . This sets teh Z0 point and raises to whatever height you set in Sheetcam.


Sorry Vmax,
I just do not know how to write macro, I have misunderstanding here.
Can I ask you here ? I have floating head to use to touch off plate. I also will use sheetcam. I do not understand how to implement the above. Do you have the macro as per your explanation above ? Thanks.

Re: reset z to zero

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 8:50 am
by Robertspark
asuratman

What post processor are you using in sheetcam?

Can you provide a copy of the post processsor you've selected and I will make it automatic for you.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ODyK90hh3YE

Re: reset z to zero

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 10:05 am
by Robertspark
..... alternative.....
you can add gcode to sheetcam which will call a macro within UCCNC which will do the touchoff sequence for you....

Below / attached is just such a macro which will work just fine

Re: reset z to zero

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 10:17 am
by Robertspark
To edit the sheetcam post processor search for the section that says "function OnPenDown()"

and edit as follows (this presumes that you will be using the M777.txt macro I posted earlier)

Code: Select all
function OnPenDown()
   post.Text (" M777\n")   -- touch off Macro
   post.Text (" M03\n")    -- fire torch M-code

      if (pierceDelay > 0) then    -- if required .... Pierce delay {need to add it for your plasma tool}
         post.Text (" G4 P")
         post.Number (pierceDelay * 100,"0.###")
         post.Eol()
      end
end

Re: reset z to zero

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 2:47 pm
by asuratman
Hi Rob,
Thanks for your help. I am still learning your question and the last macro. I have UCCNC, I did not find on sheetcam yet. I will be back soon.

Re: reset z to zero

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 5:12 am
by asuratman
Hello guys and Rob,
Excuse me, can I continue in here ?
I have learned your question. I found that the pp is Mach3 flame with THC-G31. This one the closest pp to my UCCNC. I found "function OnPenDown()" in sheetcam to edit.
What I need is to touch off the material, found the the surface as zero. Then retract 2 inch to ignite the flame torch manually. Run sheetcam, since we know the zero, go to pierce height, then cut material at cut height. I want to use flame to cut thick material, I do not have big electricity here for plasma. Is this OK ? I got pics my machine attached. Now, I know what automatic in sheetcam PP, but still I need to learn how to write macro. Thanks in advance.

Re: reset z to zero

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:07 am
by Robertspark
I've not done oxy-acetylene before.

Can you explain how you are going to control the cutting torch sequence?

Its been +25 years since I've used a cutting torch

how are you going to operate the torch for preheat?

how are you goiung to operte the torch for cutting?

do you have 3x valves?

{retracting the torch to 2" and having it wait for you to ignite the torh is easy..... I've just not figured out how you are going to switch from pre-heat to cutting operation}