Need Help !! Enable signal parallel to steps

Here is where you can request new features or special features.

Need Help !! Enable signal parallel to steps

Postby carsten@ullerup.org » Sat Dec 31, 2016 12:44 pm

Hi out there.

I have an older router from a German company EAS Gmbh, and a NC100 controller and EAS(Y) V3 software from the same company. I bought a computer (64 bits) and my routers hardware are not able to run on 64 bits systems. (no driver present for the USB to parallel buffer)
So - using UCCNC and UC300ETH on my mill, i would like to use this software and controller on the old router too, just using another profile.
I created the new UCCNC profile, and I am able to use port #3 on the UC300 ETH to control the old router and it works - BUT i need to be able to control the ENABLE signal parallel to the step signal (do to the function of old stepperdriver-box from the router). The ENABLE signal must not be active before movement is needed otherwise the steppermotors gets warm and there is a noise coming from the motors too.
So my question is:
Is it possible to control the ENABLE signal with a macro that runs in the background like this -
- When steps on pin 2 port 3 is active, then set enable signal high on pin 4 port 3 (x axis)
- when steps on pin 5 port 3 is active, then set enable signal high on pin 4 port 3 (y axis)
- when steps on pin 8 port 3 is active, then set enable signal high on pin 7 port 3 (z axis)

If there is another way to do the same in setting up UCCNC, i would like very much to hear about that.
Can anyone help??
Thanks in advance


Best regards and a Happy New Year /Carsten, Denmark
carsten@ullerup.org
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 7:42 am

Re: Need Help !! Enable signal parallel to steps

Postby cncdrive » Sat Dec 31, 2016 1:31 pm

There is the Current Hi/low setting on the Configuration,I/O setup page you can use that.
That output activates prior to motion and deactivates when all motion stops.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4887
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: Need Help !! Enable signal parallel to steps

Postby carsten@ullerup.org » Sun Jan 01, 2017 10:18 pm

Hi CNCdrive
I managed to solve my needs like this.
I used the solution you surgested for the x and y axis, and then i have written a macro to set the enable of z axis.


// Macro for set pin 7 port 3 high, if pin 4 port 3 is high

if (exec.GetLED(89)) // if LED 4 port 3 is ON
{
exec.Setoutpin(3,7); // Set pin 7 port3 high
}
else
{
exec.Clroutpin(3,7); // Set pin 7 port 3 low
}

I set it up, as a running in the background macro, and it works fine.
Another issue with this older NC 100 Stepperdriver is that i have to set pin 17 to high to enable the hole box.

I little bit of rewriting of this macro gave me the possibility to enable the Stepperdriver too, it is now controlled with the reset button.

// Macro for toggle pin 17 port 3 high on reset

if (!exec.GetLED(25)) // if resetLED is OFF
{
exec.Setoutpin(3,17); // Set pin 17 port3 high
}
else
{
exec.Clroutpin(3,17); // Set pin 17 port 3 low
}

Thanks / Carsten , Denmark
carsten@ullerup.org
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 7:42 am


Return to Feature Request

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

cron