Page 1 of 2
Wizard toolpath solutions?
Posted:
Mon Nov 27, 2017 6:56 pm
by Robertspark
Anyone got any suggestions for integrating / using a toolpath with a wizards?
Re: Wizard toolpath solutions?
Posted:
Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:10 am
by Robertspark
Sorry, I was being a bit candid.... I've had a long term pipedream project of trying to put together some simple wizards (similar to hypertherms phoenix shape wizard).... Every now and then I have another go at it.
Current iteration was to use a screenset tab (layer), and some sub screenset tabs (layers) to allow for a wizard per tab (layer) with the generic settings on the parent layer
I thought it would be nice to display the object being created visually in something like the toolpath window as the settings are being changed
I had a thought how to do this which was to save the current gcode line of the current gcode file and to save the current gcode filename (so they could be restored later), and then use a macropump to monitor the current screenset layer that was active and then create the gcode using the settings on the tab and load it into the toolpath viewer.
I was wondering if there may be an easier way....
I've still not managed to get my head around the creation of stand alone wizard macros fully.... Hence looking at screenset editing which will be a pia to manage later with uccnc development which requires as3 objects on the screenset in order to use or set them
Re: Wizard toolpath solutions?
Posted:
Wed Nov 29, 2017 12:01 am
by Robertspark
Any suggested way to display a AS3.Addtoolpath(80, 39, 372, 306, 2); object?
object on a macro wizard form?
.... I'm guessing its not possible but thought Id ask before trawling google too much... thanks in advance for any direction
Re: Wizard toolpath solutions?
Posted:
Wed Nov 29, 2017 9:15 am
by dezsoe
Robertspark wrote:object on a macro wizard form?
What is a "macro wizard form"? Is it a form created in runtime by a macro?
Re: Wizard toolpath solutions?
Posted:
Wed Nov 29, 2017 9:59 am
by Robertspark
dezsoe wrote:Robertspark wrote:object on a macro wizard form?
What is a "macro wizard form"? Is it a form created in runtime by a macro?
Yes
Re: Wizard toolpath solutions?
Posted:
Wed Nov 29, 2017 10:55 am
by cncdrive
It is currently not possible to place a toolpath viewer on a macro Form.
The number of toolpath views which can be displayed one time is also limited to 1 max.
This is because now the toolpath viewer is a totally independent OpenGL control.
It would be possible to overcome this limitation if we were using the same OpenGL control and render the toolpath to a memory image via a framebuffer.
The issue with that and why we did not do that is because it requires OpenGL 2.0 and currently the UCCNC requires OpenGL 1.3 only.
Using OpenGL 2.0 functions would create a requirement for the user to have a graphics card with OpenGL 2.0 or higher.
OpenGL 2.0 is also old enough, but our experience that people often want to use old computers and if we use OpenGL 2.0 functions then 15 years old graphics cards would not more work.
Maybe a few years later when mostly all of those old PCs die out then we can upgrade to a higher OpenGL version, but for now I think it is better to keep it on the 1.3 version to keep the highest possible soft-hardware compatibility.
Another way would be to allow the user to create more instances of the toolpath viewer control, but that could easily become a resource hog, so I don't think it is a good idea.
Re: Wizard toolpath solutions?
Posted:
Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:15 pm
by Robertspark
Thanks, no don't want any upgrading of open GL, if works fine as it does
I will have another think, a static *.PNG is probably better anyway
I may have been being too clever anyway and adding too much complexity
Re: Wizard toolpath solutions?
Posted:
Thu Nov 30, 2017 10:59 pm
by Robertspark
anyone got any suggestions with these macro wizard forms to limit textbox entry to numeric + decimal point only?
Thanks in advance
{quiet on the forum at present... christmas shopping?}
Re: Wizard toolpath solutions?
Posted:
Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:26 pm
by cncdrive
Hi Rob,
Yes, Christmas shopping is ongoing, but it is not me shopping, but customers shopping at us, so I didn't have time to do the shopping yet.
Some code for what you want to do with the textbox:
- Code: Select all
private void textBox1_KeyPress(object sender, KeyPressEventArgs e)
{
if (!char.IsControl(e.KeyChar) && !char.IsDigit(e.KeyChar) &&
(e.KeyChar != '.'))
{
e.Handled = true;
}
// only allow one decimal point
if ((e.KeyChar == '.') && ((sender as TextBox).Text.IndexOf('.') > -1))
{
e.Handled = true;
}
}
Re: Wizard toolpath solutions?
Posted:
Fri Dec 01, 2017 7:23 am
by Robertspark
Thanks Balazs
Good to hear the shop is busy, plus you're getting some fallout of the cyber Monday.
Are you going to alpha test the g41/g42 version with users?