Things to make the Gcode editor better !

Here is where you can request new features or special features.

Things to make the Gcode editor better !

Postby Vmax549 » Sat Sep 15, 2018 12:47 pm

Make paste work for more than one instance

Add Line Numbers
Remove Line Numbers

Add Spaces
Remove Spaces

Add empty lines
Remove empty lines

Convert METRIC ----> INCH ( VERY usefull tool since UCCNC does not have G20/21,G70/71)
Convert INCH ----> METRIC

Pretest code and show current toolpath based on code (great learning tool to learn Gcode)

Anyone else have an ideas for Gcode Edit ??

(;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1190
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Things to make the Gcode editor better !

Postby Haik » Sun Sep 16, 2018 6:04 am

I think it would be useful if the user could point UCCNC to use an external application for gCode editing. For NC files I like to use Microsoft Visual Studio Code, which is freeware. Adding to that an extension (aka: plugin) by the name of nc-code which provides many NC editing features (see screenshot).

It would be great if I could just keep using what I'm used to. :geek:

vsCode.png
Microsoft Visual Studio Code w/nc-code extension/addin.
Haik
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:01 pm

Re: Things to make the Gcode editor better !

Postby Dan911 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:39 am

Haik wrote:I think it would be useful if the user could point UCCNC to use an external application for gCode editing. For NC files I like to use Microsoft Visual Studio Code, which is freeware. Adding to that an extension (aka: plugin) by the name of nc-code which provides many NC editing features (see screenshot).

It would be great if I could just keep using what I'm used to. :geek:

vsCode.png



UCCNC can point to an external application to edit your Gcode.

1. Create a Macro with a # between 20000 - 21999
2. Add code below, replace notepad.exe in quotations with exe you want to open.
3. Using screen edit in UCCNC change the button number for the Edit File button from 126 to the macro number you used.

Once you save file in external application and close it UCCNC will reload the edited file.

Dan

Code: Select all
string gcpath = exec.Getgcodefilename();
System.Diagnostics.Process.Start("notepad.exe",gcpath).WaitForExit();
exec.Loadfile(gcpath);


//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Terry I created a UCCNC Unit Converter plugin, I will post in the toolbox section.
Dan911
 
Posts: 389
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 1:22 am
Location: USA

Re: Things to make the Gcode editor better !

Postby Robertspark » Sun Sep 16, 2018 10:18 am

viewtopic.php?f=15&t=687

viewtopic.php?f=15&t=686

Examples in the toolbox section and a transparent button image if you want one, save reinventing the wheel
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2106, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2105 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 895
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: Things to make the Gcode editor better !

Postby Dan911 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 10:27 am

Robertspark wrote:http://www.forum.cncdrive.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=687

viewtopic.php?f=15&t=687
viewtopic.php?f=15&t=686

Examples in the toolbox section and a transparent button image if you want one, save reinventing the wheel



Sorry Robert I didn't know of them post otherwise I would of used links, forum not allowing me to edit my post.

Dan
Dan911
 
Posts: 389
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 1:22 am
Location: USA

Re: Things to make the Gcode editor better !

Postby Robertspark » Sun Sep 16, 2018 10:34 am

No problem, I was sitting back anyway and watching to see if Terry wanted it to do something different (I've not edited gcode directly within uccnc, I use notepad++ (each to their own + what works for you works, don't fix what ain't broke etc)

It was only when you mentioned macros and buttons I thought someone may be looking for a transparent button then you just edit the background and click in that position.

I was looking how much was in the toolbox section and was impressed, I was wondering if the default view in the toolbox section could be increased from 10 items in the list to 25 (as the screenset thread) or more that way more are on view instead of clicking on buttons to shift across between thread pages
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2106, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2105 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 895
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: Things to make the Gcode editor better !

Postby Vmax549 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 1:10 pm

The point is if you are going to have a gcode editor at least make it as useful as you can.

YES uccnc should have a Gcode editor and yes you should be able to choose your own .

To me an editor that userstands all teh Gcode functions of UCCNC would be best. Also pretesting of teh code before you have to reload it.

Toolpathing would also be a great learning tool for learning Gcode. It would add to teh Toolpath each line you create.

Yous guys have been outside of teh box too long :o

(;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1190
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Things to make the Gcode editor better !

Postby ger21 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 1:31 pm

Maybe you've been in the box for too long. :twisted:

How many users would actually use any of these features? Maybe 1%-2%?
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1116
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Things to make the Gcode editor better !

Postby Vmax549 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:40 pm

A lot more than you realize use a gcode(text) editor of SOME kind. I have worked MANY years with people helping them with Gcoding and a proper editor makes that job a lot simpler rather than having to slug it out with a text editor then reload teh code just to test it. A built in visual toolpath is a GREAT HELP.

UCCNC already has most of teh pieces needed to do this . It just needs to be assembled all together in one spot.

And for those outside teh box you need to be able to select your own editor. That would be a simple option.

( x) Use your own editor ( path to your editor )


(;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1190
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Things to make the Gcode editor better !

Postby Derek » Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:55 pm

I hate the built in editor with a passion. I would love to be able to select my own editor.
Derek
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:57 am

Next

Return to Feature Request

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests