proma thc problem

If you have a question about the software please ask it here.

Re: proma thc problem

Postby Robertspark » Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:52 pm

Much older hypertherm powermax 350 running at 25 amps required about 1500 mm/min cutting speed

Hypertherm powermax 45, running at 30a , with 30a consumables, on 2mm mild steel requires about 3000 mm/min (but at about 98 volts)

I think your 400mm/min is way too low
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2106, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2105 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 990
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: proma thc problem

Postby cncdrive » Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:59 pm

One thing is that the Proma SD is a standalone THC controller. It inputs step/dir signals from the CNC controller and outputs step/dir signals to the stepper or servo drive.
It is not a conventional THC controller which outputs THC up and down and Arc OK signals and then let the software control the Z-axis for the THC.
So, I'm not sure why are you even enabling the THC in the UCCNC for the Proma SD? Other than if you want to inform the UCCNC about the ArcOK signal which you probably don't have now if the code execution stucks on the M3 line.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2264
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: proma thc problem

Postby Robertspark » Thu Aug 09, 2018 9:03 pm

Oops.... Good point.... There is no arc ok feedback from the SD.... And M3 is waiting for arc ok
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2106, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2105 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 990
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: proma thc problem

Postby kawarider » Thu Aug 09, 2018 9:51 pm

I use hypertherm and proma. Voltage is around 60 v and 3000 mm/min with 2 mm steel. At that speed voltage is way to high. If you have a hypertherm check your cutting charts that come with the machine. It s a very nice start. Seems like mentioned before thc has lost arc and uccnc does what it should do.
kawarider
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2018 10:38 am

Re: proma thc problem

Postby mvandijk » Fri Aug 10, 2018 6:08 pm

:oops: stupid off me i don't need to setup any setting in uccnc to use the thc i need just only to fine tune the cutting setting
thanks for helping out .
mvandijk
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:23 pm

Re: proma thc problem

Postby kawarider » Sat Aug 11, 2018 7:15 am

Thx for sharing that.
kawarider
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2018 10:38 am

Previous

Return to Ask a question from support here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests