proma thc problem

If you have a question about the software please ask it here.

proma thc problem

Postby mvandijk » Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:31 pm

i try to run my plasma cnc with a proma thc but it stops at m03 i have enable the thc control in my configuration
so its waiting for a arc ok signal i think but how do i set that on everthing below the thc control i put in and save it's not saving .
and is there a manual how to setup a thc i can't not find it in the manual.
mvandijk
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:23 pm

Re: proma thc problem

Postby cncdrive » Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:42 pm

Please be a bit more specific about what your problem or problems are. Please try to separate your issues if there are more of them, because it is hard to read and understand.

If I understand you correctly one of your issues is that you can't change settings?
I think that the reason for that is that you not pressing an ENTER keyboard key after you change the settings.

The second issue is that you don't want the software to wait for the arc ok signal?
I think it is not a good idea to do so, but the UCCNC has an option for it. It is the "Control THC even if the THC on signal is not active".
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2371
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: proma thc problem

Postby mvandijk » Thu Aug 09, 2018 6:41 pm

uccnc.png


When i try to run a file to cut it's get stuck ad this position see the screenshot
and if i turn the torch off in the screen it will go again to finished the run but the torch is off so it is not cutting .

When i turn the "Control THC even if the THC on signal is not active" on it will run but the thc wil not work it is just cutting without thc


and i can not change the setting in the configuration of the thc control like arc on pin /thc pin /thc down pin
mvandijk
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:23 pm

Re: proma thc problem

Postby Robertspark » Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:08 pm

Your THC is probably doing what it is supposed to.

The THC is indicated a lost arc condition and dropping the arcok out, which uccnc is registering and stopping the motion because the THC is enabled.

Within the proma there are a few settings, one from memory was for arc ok, can you list the settings please
Last edited by Robertspark on Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2106, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2105 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1108
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: proma thc problem

Postby Robertspark » Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:09 pm

Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2106, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2105 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1108
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: proma thc problem

Postby mvandijk » Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:03 pm

I have a proma sd and the setting are:
Speed 90
Delay time 0,5
High voltage 200
Direction 1 positief

I have change nothing yet its are the factory setting
mvandijk
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:23 pm

Re: proma thc problem

Postby Robertspark » Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:05 pm

What are you cutting?

Thickness + feedrate + amperage + THC voltage setting?
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2106, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2105 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1108
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: proma thc problem

Postby mvandijk » Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:20 pm

I'm cutting 2 mm steelplate
30 amp
400 mm feedrate
120 v thc
mvandijk
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:23 pm

Re: proma thc problem

Postby cncdrive » Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:25 pm

When the THC is on and you turn the M3 on then the software waits for the ARC OK input signal, so I see no problem, it works as it has to.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2371
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: proma thc problem

Postby Robertspark » Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:41 pm

What is the cut like ?

400mm/min for 2mm mild steel seems a little slow at 30 amps.

Could it be that the kerf is getting too wide and the voltage is rising above 200v and the arcok signal is dropping out?

Eg: Hypertherm 30xp, 2mm mild steel, at about 125v, feedrate 7530mm/min at 30a

~1mm mild steel is 400 inches per minute.

You may want to increase the "high voltage" setting to your torches open circuit voltage or a little below it.

Hypertherm 30xp is 256v open circuit.

I know you may not be using a hypertherm but it's just an example
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2106, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2105 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1108
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Next

Return to Ask a question from support here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests