rotary tool changer- carousel

This is where you talk about Macros, show examples of your macro scripting and SHARE handy segments of script code as examples.

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Battwell » Mon Jul 23, 2018 9:01 am

The only thing I have to work out now is shortest distance code for direction of carousel
Max 6 tools
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby ThreeDJ16 » Sat Sep 08, 2018 10:53 pm

Nice. This is what I am looking for. We are doing a similar type ATC, but not the Geneva drive, just a stepper with a backshaft encoder. Slides into position, rotates and our Z moves in and out of position. I'm curious if anyone has written a screen interface for setting up the tool per slot yet?

How is this project coming along?

We just finished up building our R8 spindle and power draw bar. So hoping soon this will be the next project.

Hoping to add some more videos tonight, now that I have it all plumbed in proper and set. The first videos were just simple tests and some are of the frame we built for our mill (yes these used to be Taigs....LOL). https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFCKp9 ... subscriber
ThreeDJ16
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:57 pm

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Vmax549 » Sun Sep 09, 2018 12:28 pm

UCCNC does not use slot Numbers only Tool numbers so I am not sure of your request. IF you look closely my example shows teh tool table where teh Slot Numbers can be assigned to a tool number for reference. Then you can auto update teh tool table based on teh slot numbers requested.

Now it would be NICE if UCCNC recognized slot#s as an ATC option but it does not.

(;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby ThreeDJ16 » Sun Sep 09, 2018 1:38 pm

Vmax549 wrote:UCCNC does not use slot Numbers only Tool numbers so I am not sure of your request. IF you look closely my example shows teh tool table where teh Slot Numbers can be assigned to a tool number for reference. Then you can auto update teh tool table based on teh slot numbers requested.

Now it would be NICE if UCCNC recognized slot#s as an ATC option but it does not.

(;-) TP


I was looking for a custom screen where you can fill that table. Assigning the slots to tools. How are you accomplishing that? Midi the data in? In my post on the other thread, I linked a vid where someone did that in Mach3, and I know we can do custom screens in UCCNC. So was curious if anyone had already made one up for a simple carousel style changer. I saw one for the more complex changer, but didn't see any files posted.

Thanks for the info.
Jasen
ThreeDJ16
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:57 pm

Previous

Return to Macros

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests