rotary tool changer- carousel

This is where you talk about Macros, show examples of your macro scripting and SHARE handy segments of script code as examples.

rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Battwell » Sat Jul 07, 2018 11:57 am

has anyone already written a full tool change macro for a rotary tool changer?-
im converting an old denford mill at the moment. uses 2 pulses to step between tool numbers. driven by a geared cam.
cant remember what that setup is called. (i know its also used on the new chinese machines)
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Battwell » Sat Jul 07, 2018 3:13 pm

That’s the one terry
Takes 2 rotations to move from tool to tool.
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Robertspark » Sat Jul 07, 2018 3:32 pm

Impressive (learnt something else today)
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geneva_drive
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2106, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2105 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1081
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Battwell » Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:39 am

it has a 220v mains single phase motor, geared to the cam wheel
the index wheel is a circle with a chord chopped off. sensor is on for most of the circle- off when it is along the chord. ( sensor parallel to sides of the index wheel)
i have written a bit of code which has it moving .
trying to work out the best way to record the pulses- the index wheel is a circle with a chord chopped off.
i have it working ok in 1 direction but its not right once reversed.
at the moment i have it running while loops recording both high and low transitions- so confirming movement. .
il post the testing code later for you to suggest improvement.
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Battwell » Sun Jul 08, 2018 12:25 pm

So far
Works well - until reversed
https://youtu.be/7ea6354u42E
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Battwell » Sun Jul 08, 2018 12:36 pm

int carforwardport=2;
int carforwardpin=17;
int carreverseport=2;
int carreversepin=16;



//exec.Setoutpin (carreverseport,carreversepin);
exec.Wait(100);

exec.Setoutpin (carforwardport,carforwardpin);

for (int i=0; i<12; i++)
{


//wait for sensor off = movement
while (AS3.GetLED(4));
{
exec.Wait(10);

if (exec.Ismacrostopped())
{
exec.Clroutpin (carforwardport,carforwardpin);
exec.StopWithDeccel();
return;
}
}
Console.Beep();
exec.AddStatusmessage("off "+ i);
//sensor-off end


//wait for sensor on = next position
while (AS3.GetLED(4));
{
exec.Wait(10);

if (exec.Ismacrostopped())
{
exec.Clroutpin (carforwardport,carforwardpin);
exec.StopWithDeccel();
return;
}
}
exec.AddStatusmessage("on "+ i);
}
//exec.Wait(50);
exec.Clroutpin (carforwardport,carforwardpin);
exec.Clroutpin (carreverseport,carreversepin);
exec.Wait(10);
//sensor-on-position found end

return;
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Battwell » Sun Jul 08, 2018 1:28 pm

My next head scratcher is orienting the spindle for atc
The spindle is driven by a dc drive which is a bit hit and miss whether it will start rotating at very low speed.
Il need slow rotation to stop it at the sensor position.
I was thinking about using a while loop to ramp up the spindle analogue output in small steps until the sensor position is seen.
Thoughts of a better way?
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Battwell » Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:31 am

yes- it uses bt style holders so the drive dogs must engage in the spindle at the correct orientation. i tried load of things yesterday- but still having a problem with getting the spindle to stop exactly at the right angle.- even ramping up the speed from 0 to very slow- then when pulse is seen killing the pwm to analogue chanel.
there is no spindle brake.
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Battwell » Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:48 am

im pretty confident i can add rotary to my already written linear changer code (which i wrote for my big router) - that way everything is saved to profile as it goes.. it was too much work writing that to only use once!
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: rotary tool changer- carousel

Postby Battwell » Mon Jul 09, 2018 4:13 pm

original used none of the above :-(
was done with just 1 sensor input, fwd run signal and analog.

by the way- i worked out geneva drive control ok now so no need for any additions to that
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Next

Return to Macros

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests