RS485 For Automation Tech 1100W Spindle Motor

This Section is for users to discuss hardware

RS485 For Automation Tech 1100W Spindle Motor

Postby ThreeDJ16 » Sun Jun 24, 2018 5:44 am

Hello. I've searched through the forum and haven't seen anything related, so thought I'd ask if anyone here has info on possibly using the RS485 plugin for the 1100 Watt spindle motor from Automation Technologies? https://www.automationtechnologiesinc.c ... nd-driver/

Thanks in advance.
ThreeDJ16
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:57 pm

Re: RS485 For Automation Tech 1100W Spindle Motor

Postby ger21 » Sun Jun 24, 2018 11:43 am

It does show an RS-485 connection, but there's no documentation on how to use it, so I don't know how you would set the parameters in the plugin, or even if it would work.

I'd call John at Automation Technologies and ask him any questions you may have. Does the installation video cover speed control? Don't have time to watch it.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1212
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: RS485 For Automation Tech 1100W Spindle Motor

Postby ThreeDJ16 » Fri Jun 29, 2018 5:22 am

ger21 wrote:It does show an RS-485 connection, but there's no documentation on how to use it, so I don't know how you would set the parameters in the plugin, or even if it would work.

I'd call John at Automation Technologies and ask him any questions you may have. Does the installation video cover speed control? Don't have time to watch it.

Thanks,
I actually got this one from Fleabay (sold as brand new in the box). Once I got it in, found out it was made in 2008 and was the version that had major issues. Complete misrepresentation of the product. I wouldn't even plug it in with all those huge electrolytic caps sitting for a decade. So it's going back. Should have known better.

Anyway, I'll probably just put that money towards a much nicer DMM 750 watt servo motor for my spindle. Hopefully DMM will be forthcoming on parameters for their RS485 interface. If not, it's still easy to deal with 0-10v and a forward/reverse pin.
ThreeDJ16
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:57 pm

Re: RS485 For Automation Tech 1100W Spindle Motor

Postby cncdrive » Fri Jun 29, 2018 7:26 am

One other option with a servo is to use step/dir interface for spindle control. The UCCNC has that option too.
So, if the servo drive has a step/dir interface then that will also work.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2375
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: RS485 For Automation Tech 1100W Spindle Motor

Postby ThreeDJ16 » Fri Jun 29, 2018 6:15 pm

cncdrive wrote:One other option with a servo is to use step/dir interface for spindle control. The UCCNC has that option too.
So, if the servo drive has a step/dir interface then that will also work.

Very true. DMM servo motors do support that function too.

Thanks.
ThreeDJ16
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:57 pm

Re: RS485 For Automation Tech 1100W Spindle Motor

Postby ThreeDJ16 » Sat Oct 06, 2018 12:32 am

cncdrive wrote:One other option with a servo is to use step/dir interface for spindle control. The UCCNC has that option too.
So, if the servo drive has a step/dir interface then that will also work.

Yeah, I am resurrecting an old thread, but finally have time to install my DMM 750W servo motor and I'm going to use step/dir as you state (also DMM recommended using it if available). So my question is they have electronic gearing as they call it to you can set whatever number you need for steps per revolution. Per their manual, the gear number x 4 = steps per rev and it goes from something like 500 (x4=2000 steps per rev) to a ridiculous number like 65K. So I'm using a M45/UC300ETH and a C11G from CNC4PC rated at 4Mhz. My motor will turn up to 5K RPM. I always get messed up on where the saturation point is for this? I'm coming up with 12k steps per revolution max, does that sound right? What is the max steps per rev that is possible with UCCNC? Thanks for any information.

-Jasen
ThreeDJ16
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:57 pm

Re: RS485 For Automation Tech 1100W Spindle Motor

Postby Robertspark » Sat Oct 06, 2018 5:52 am

The uc300eth has available a 400khz kernel loop, so it is able to output at a maximum rate of 400,000 pulses per second..... Providing your hardware can accept such a fast pulse steam (servo motors fine, stepper motors not so good)

5000 rpm = 83.33333r rev / second

400khz / 83.3333r = 4800 pulses per revolution (maximum)

4800 / 4 = 1200, which is your gear number, if you set your kernel speed on maximum at 400khz on the general configuration tab
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2106, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2105 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1113
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: RS485 For Automation Tech 1100W Spindle Motor

Postby ThreeDJ16 » Sat Oct 06, 2018 6:01 am

Hey, thanks a bunch for that info. Well at least I was close...LOL...only off by one zero....haha.

Thanks,
Jasen
ThreeDJ16
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:57 pm

Re: RS485 For Automation Tech 1100W Spindle Motor

Postby Battwell » Wed Oct 10, 2018 11:38 am

i came accross this issue when fitting step/direction spindle to my mill.
both with step pulses out and encoder pulses in from the motor (mine raw is 10000 counts per revolution)- i multiplied and divided by 8 in the drive.
worked great :-) (i use 3800 rpm maximum)
first thing i tested was encoder tracked speed from encoder which originally showed failing at higher rpm as uccnc couldnt keep up with the input counts. (hence divided these down before sending to uccnc)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IuCULDcxZ_Q
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: RS485 For Automation Tech 1100W Spindle Motor

Postby ThreeDJ16 » Wed Oct 10, 2018 7:57 pm

Battwell wrote:i came accross this issue when fitting step/direction spindle to my mill.
both with step pulses out and encoder pulses in from the motor (mine raw is 10000 counts per revolution)- i multiplied and divided by 8 in the drive.
worked great :-) (i use 3800 rpm maximum)
first thing i tested was encoder tracked speed from encoder which originally showed failing at higher rpm as uccnc couldnt keep up with the input counts. (hence divided these down before sending to uccnc)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IuCULDcxZ_Q

My raw encoder count is like 65K...LOL. DMM uses a crazy high encoder count. So thankfully that have built in electronic gearing for the steps per rev and a similar deal for encoder pass through. I did find out that at 220v, the spindle can do 6.5k RPM, so a nice easy number is 6K which works out to a gear number of 1000. Made up my motor plates last weekend, so this weekend (if we have power from the storms) I'll be working on hooking it up to UCCNC and running power. So not sure yet what my encoder pass through reduction will be yet, but seems like I remember from my previous spindle encoder (which was on the spindle and 12K rpm) could only deal with about 400 PPR before it saturated the card.

Should be interesting. Unfortunately I don't have the ability the run 220v in my mill area, so having to use a transformer. Thankfully there not supposed to pull much current (750w Nema 34).
ThreeDJ16
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:57 pm

Next

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest