MDI Command Log

Here is where you can request new features or special features.

MDI Command Log

Postby pupdogg » Tue Jun 19, 2018 9:47 pm

It would be useful to have a clickable button to the right of the MDI field for end users to access a clearable buffer of previously entered MDI commands so that they don't have to fully type them out again. Pls see attached. In the past, I used a variant of LinuxCNC called CommandCNC and it had this feature. It was extremely useful and a time saver. Thank you in advance!
Attachments
mdi-1024x576.jpg
SS_2018_06_19_14.png
Paul Davis
5x10' CNC Router
UCCNC, ETH300, UB1, DMM Servos
pupdogg
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 9:19 pm

Re: MDI Command Log

Postby Derek » Wed Jun 20, 2018 12:02 am

That one looks like it is a drop down menu which would be amazing to have. There is weirdness for sure when I arrow through the MDI. Seems like if I go one direction then back the MDI I had just typed in disappears.
Derek
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:57 am

Re: MDI Command Log

Postby cncdrive » Wed Jun 20, 2018 6:24 am

Yes, the MDI makes an invisible log just for the current run and when you accessing the MDI and moving the up/down arrows you can select the previously types in g-code lines.
Making a dropdown list would be also possible for us to develop, but it is not as easy as it seems, because UCCNC is using OpenGL for drawing, so drawing things is not as easy as placing a windows control on the screen. And the other bigger issue I see is that currently the toolpath view is a separate control, so we can't draw GUI items on top of it and so if a toolpath view is above the MDI in a sceenset then what we draw there would not be seen, e.g. the dropdown list would not be seen, it would dissapear behing the toolpath view control.
We could change the toolpath view, could make it in the same control as the main GUI, but the issue is that it would require newer OpenGL version and we already learnt that some people want to use ancient computer hardwares. And moving from OpenGL 1.5 to 2.0 would be required to do that... so, for now we do not want to do that change.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2360
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: MDI Command Log

Postby Dan911 » Wed Jun 20, 2018 1:35 pm

I think this plugin is useless since I'm very happy with the MDI scroll log UCCNC provides. Only posting to show if you find a feature in another controller UCCNC don't have it provides the tools to create it in most cases.

MDI.JPG
MDI.JPG (22.54 KiB) Viewed 860 times


Check Enable in Configure Plugins.
Create a button and give it button # 7222

MDI.rar.zip
(5.01 KiB) Downloaded 38 times
Dan911
 
Posts: 501
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 1:22 am
Location: USA

Re: MDI Command Log

Postby Dan911 » Wed Jun 20, 2018 1:59 pm

The MDI log file is not accessible in plugin either, I just created my own log file.

Dan
Dan911
 
Posts: 501
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 1:22 am
Location: USA

Re: MDI Command Log

Postby cncdrive » Wed Jun 20, 2018 2:05 pm

OK, I've added these 3 functions. They will be available in the next release:

Function: List<string> Getlist(int labelnumber)
Description: This function returns all items of a screen list. The return type is a list of strings.
Example: List<string> mylist = AS3.Getlist(2);

Function: List<string> GetMDIhistory()
Description: This function returns all items previously typed into the MDI control.
Example: List<string> mylist = AS3.GetMDIhistory();

Function: void ClearMDIhistory()
Description: This function clears the MDI history list.
Example: AS3.ClearMDIhistory();
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2360
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: MDI Command Log

Postby Dan911 » Wed Jun 20, 2018 2:15 pm

Vmax549 wrote:Hi Dan, Did you use an onclick() or a ontype() function to gather data for teh MDI log ??

Not being a programmer I rarely dive into teh plugin side unless it is absolutely needed :roll:

(;-) TP



//Called when the user enters text into the Textfield and it gets validated
//The labelnumber parameter is the ID of the accessed Textfield
//The bool Ismainscreen parameter is true is the Textfield is on the main screen and false if it is on the jog screen.
//The text parameter is the text entered and validated by the user
public void Textfieldtexttyped_event(int labelnumber, bool Ismainscreen, string text)
{
if (Ismainscreen)
{
if (labelnumber == 1000)
{

}
}
}
Dan911
 
Posts: 501
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 1:22 am
Location: USA

Re: MDI Command Log

Postby dezsoe » Wed Jun 20, 2018 2:20 pm

Hi Balázs,

That's nice! Will it be available also in plugins?
dezsoe
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:41 pm
Location: Csörög, Hungary

Re: MDI Command Log

Postby Dan911 » Wed Jun 20, 2018 2:23 pm

dezsoe wrote:Hi Balázs,

That's nice! Will it be available also in plugins?


+1
Dan911
 
Posts: 501
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 1:22 am
Location: USA

Re: MDI Command Log

Postby cncdrive » Wed Jun 20, 2018 2:29 pm

Hi Dan,

Yes, I've added them also to the plugininterface.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2360
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Next

Return to Feature Request

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests