Tool height setting macro

This is where you talk about Macros, show examples of your macro scripting and SHARE handy segments of script code as examples.

Tool height setting macro

Postby andrewbishop66 » Mon May 21, 2018 3:57 pm

has anyone got a macro for the above using a tool height setter touch plate to populate the tool table that i can borrow/copy/steal

getting fed up with using a height gauge and doing math


Thanks andrew
andrewbishop66
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 9:05 pm

Re: Tool height setting macro

Postby CL_MotoTech » Tue May 22, 2018 1:50 pm

If I ever get to a point where I'm not making stuff via Mach3 (where I have tool height function) and can focus on UCCNC for some time I will probably write this Macro.

Ideally I'd like the machine to go to a set tool change position and have a setting where tools in repeatable height holders will not be measured after tool change, but that complicates things further.

We will see how my work flow goes, maybe I'll find some time soon.
CL_MotoTech
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 3:50 pm

Re: Tool height setting macro

Postby Vmax549 » Tue May 22, 2018 2:30 pm

What exactly did you want teh macro to do ?

(;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1312
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Tool height setting macro

Postby andrewbishop66 » Tue May 22, 2018 5:07 pm

Hi Terry
I have a 3d taster that I know the height of 120.6 mm
id like to measure to my touch plate with that in manual mode zero something so that uccnc knows the distance from spindle nose to touch plate
then touch plate (connected to probe pin)
change tool run macro and have the tool length populate the tool table
change tool repeat
change tool repeat

if that makes sense

Thanks Andrew
andrewbishop66
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 9:05 pm

Re: Tool height setting macro

Postby Vmax549 » Tue May 22, 2018 6:36 pm

Try this macro. It is off teh top of the head so test it carefully .

It should get you started. You can adjust the depth of Z probing in the macro. It is marked in the script.

//Macro M45 Tool Height Set
// Install Taster
// Z down to touch off
// Set Z Zero
// Install Tool to set
// Move down to less than 1 inch of touch probe
//From the MDI call M41 Qxx where xx is teh tool #, 1-96

(;-) TP
Attachments
M45.txt
(1.19 KiB) Downloaded 85 times
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1312
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Tool height setting macro

Postby andrewbishop66 » Tue May 22, 2018 8:05 pm

You are a star
I would not have a clue where to start but tweaking I can do
I have done some visual basic in the past but that's it

Thanks ever so much I owe you a beer

Andrew
andrewbishop66
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 9:05 pm

Re: Tool height setting macro

Postby andrewbishop66 » Thu May 24, 2018 11:04 pm

Hi Terry

just a question as I work in those horrible metric things mm
should I change the inches in the script to say 25 mm

Thanks Andrew
andrewbishop66
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 9:05 pm

Re: Tool height setting macro

Postby Vmax549 » Fri May 25, 2018 12:29 am

Yes that will work for mm.

(;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1312
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Tool height setting macro

Postby Robertspark » Sat May 26, 2018 6:30 am

andrewbishop66 wrote:just a question as I work in those horrible metric things mm


Haha, they are SI standard international units....
I believe that it's only the US that still uses imperial units, why I cannot fathom though

We (UK) still measure road distance in miles (why I cannot understand either) and fuel consumption in miles / gallon (imperial gallon that is (4.55 litre)... Not us gallon (3.75 litre)...).... But the fuel pumps deliver and charge in litres...

I've make some expensive errors in life, but this one always makes me smile and realise others have created bigger problems than mine in oversight error http://edition.cnn.com/TECH/space/9909/ ... metric.02/
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2106, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2105 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 990
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: Tool height setting macro

Postby Vmax549 » Sat May 26, 2018 12:36 pm

IF I remember correctly there was noise about teh UK going BACK to its old units of weight for commerce.

The US used the old saying IF it is not broke don't fix it.

(;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1312
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Next

Return to Macros

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest