UCCNC ETH300/UB1 Servo Alarm Setup

If you have a question about the software please ask it here.

Re: UCCNC ETH300/UB1 Servo Alarm Setup

Postby dezsoe » Mon Jul 02, 2018 5:40 pm

Yes, Gerry is right! There's no change on the right hand side of the UB1 (where the OSSD LED is) while you trigger X103. The UB1 is very far from the camera, I cannot see if the OSSD LED is on or off. Could you make a video triggering X103 (and/or other connected) input(s) while the OSSD LED can be seen? You don't need to run any code.
dezsoe
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:41 pm
Location: Csörög, Hungary

Re: UCCNC ETH300/UB1 Servo Alarm Setup

Postby ger21 » Mon Jul 02, 2018 5:45 pm

Weerasak just provided the answer at CNC Zone I think.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1117
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: UCCNC ETH300/UB1 Servo Alarm Setup

Postby dezsoe » Mon Jul 02, 2018 5:49 pm

Yes, I've just read it. There is the definite answer. :)
dezsoe
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:41 pm
Location: Csörög, Hungary

Re: UCCNC ETH300/UB1 Servo Alarm Setup

Postby cncdrive » Mon Jul 02, 2018 5:53 pm

Pupdogg,

It's unfortunately you did not show the Diagnostics page on the video, it would narrow down the issue to the UCCNC or to the UB1 board side.
Can you tell if the port#1 pin#2 is changing state at all when you triggering that circuit on the UB1 with that proximity switch?
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2190
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: UCCNC ETH300/UB1 Servo Alarm Setup

Postby pupdogg » Mon Jul 02, 2018 6:22 pm

@weerasak did answer my question on CNCZone @ https://www.cnczone.com/forums/uccnc-control-software/339798-cnc-4.html#post2194824. Attached you will find screenshot of his answer and my response to his answer. I was just hoping that I could wire the servo-drive's ALARM output directly to the UB1 OSSD Safety Circuit without having the need for an external relay...at least as per his initial response on this forum @ http://forum.cncdrive.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=1242#p9327.
Attachments
SS_20180702_4.png
SS_20180702_3.png
Paul Davis
5x10' CNC Router
UCCNC, ETH300, UB1, DMM Servos
pupdogg
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 9:19 pm

Re: UCCNC ETH300/UB1 Servo Alarm Setup

Postby cncdrive » Mon Jul 02, 2018 9:44 pm

Is the Alarm output on the servo drive normall open (NO) or normally closed (NC)?
If it is normally open then you could even connect them up in parallel, because they are open collector outputs according to the manual sheet you posted.
The only thing I'm missing to see is if they are NO or NC outputs. If the alarm output is open when there is no alarm or is closed when there is no alarm?
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2190
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: UCCNC ETH300/UB1 Servo Alarm Setup

Postby Weerasak » Tue Jul 03, 2018 4:56 am

Hi Pupdogg ,

Actually, I suppose to answer the question in CNCDrive forum for the first place. But get the notification from CNCZone before I knew there were some discussion in this forum. So, I've just now subscribe to this topic, next time I won't miss it again.

I've just now come to know your real situation when you mention about DMM DYN4. I myself have same issue with Granite Device Argon drive alarm output. They don’t concern much about safety approach on alarm output.

Most safe devices and industrial drives will energize the alarm output when the device working fine and de-energize this output when something wrong happened. This approach also covers power lost, wire broken automatically. This is similar to why we using NC contact switches for Estop and Limit circuit loop.

When I looked into DMM DYN4 manual and found BKO (brake output) signal would be the alternative to alarm output, please try this signal.

I also make a simple logic invert schematic for DMM DYN4 alarm output by using 2 components for each drive.


Regards,
Weerasak
Attachments
DYN4 safety inverse.JPG
AlarmDMM DYN4.JPG
Weerasak
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 3:59 pm

Re: UCCNC ETH300/UB1 Servo Alarm Setup

Postby pupdogg » Thu Jul 12, 2018 1:14 am

Hi @weerasak, sorry for my delayed response but as per your suggestion, I bought new DB25 to RJ45 connectors and routed ALM pin to BKO instead and now it works like charm. Thank you for that!!!

It’s odd that DMM servodrive does not follow the industry standard (as you mentioned) for outputting a HIGH ALM signal and making at low on an actual ALARM...I will double check Fanuc, Yaskawa and Mitsubishi manual to verify that is in fact the industry standard. It could be that we need an external PLC for Safety Circuit, which is in fact true in our lasers case which uses ABB servodrives with custom direct harmonic motors.
Paul Davis
5x10' CNC Router
UCCNC, ETH300, UB1, DMM Servos
pupdogg
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 9:19 pm

Previous

Return to Ask a question from support here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests