Page 1 of 1

Can I Replace Mach3 with UCCNC on 6040 USB

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2019 11:46 pm
by eddiegnz1
I'm looking to buy the 6040 from ebay/Chinese.
The eBay seller says it's a USB and I must use mach3.

What would I have to do to the following 6040 in order to use UCCNC instead of mach3?
My only reason for wanting UCCNC is because the seller said this 6040 kit won't work on 64bit windows.
I need a 6040 from eBay/Chinese that works on 64bit windows 10. Here's the eBay listing below

https://www.ebay.com/itm/3-AXIS-CNC-6040-Router-Desktop-Engraver-Engraving-Machine-1-5KW-USB-Handwheel/273800690123

Re: Can I Replace Mach3 with UCCNC on 6040 USB

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 12:04 am
by cncdrive
Don't get that USB controller, it contains a chinese motion controller which only works with cracked mach3 and these controllers are usually also very buggy.
The same machine is available with DSUB25 connection when there is no motion controller inside, so you can connect one of our motion controllers to that DSUB25 connection and run the UCCNC.

Re: Can I Replace Mach3 with UCCNC on 6040 USB

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 1:33 am
by eddiegnz1
cncdrive wrote:Don't get that USB controller, it contains a chinese motion controller which only works with cracked mach3 and these controllers are usually also very buggy.
The same machine is available with DSUB25 connection when there is no motion controller inside, so you can connect one of our motion controllers to that DSUB25 connection and run the UCCNC.


wow, i can't thank you enough CNCDRIVE, I was getting very close to buying that one just because it said USB. Sorry for my newbie talk but are you saying that all I need to do is find a chinese 6040 that says that the "break out board" is NOT included? can't I just replace the breakout board on the one i posted above? I guess I'm confused as to what exactly you mean by "Motion Controller". By Motion Controller do you mean the entire "control box" or are you just referring to the break out board?

I don't mean to sound like I know how to replace a break out board. But if it's easy enough, then I don't mind replacing the break out board. I've never owned nor even seen a CNC router but I bet you could help me pull the trigger on buying one. I just need to know how to identify the key words in the ebay listing such that I can be confident that it will work on my 64bit windows 10.

Re: Can I Replace Mach3 with UCCNC on 6040 USB

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 1:44 am
by cncdrive
No problem. :)

A motion controller is an electronics board with an FPGA or microcontroller which communicates with the computer side software (e.g. UCCNC) and then the microcontroller produces the signals to make the motions and other things and sends those signals out.

A breakout board is a board for interfacing, usually to isolate and level shift signals.
This is nessessary, because for example you can't drive a power relay from a weak TTL signal of a motion controller.
Also industrial sensors usually work with higher Voltage, mostly 10-30Volts and you can't directly interface those to the motion controller which accepts TTL (0/5V) signals only.
The other reason to use a breakout board, because noise then can't get back to the motion controller, because the breakout board optically isolate the signals which means the signals go through optocouplers which transfers the signal in the form of light without electrical connection between the input and the output of the optocoupler.

These cheap Chinese machine with USB connection usually have a combined USB motion controller and breakout board integrated on a single board.
This means that if you buying one of them and want to replace the board then you will need a new motion controller and new breakout board and so you will have to rewire everything which requires electrical knowledge, because your new breakout board will very likely have a totally different pinout and even totally different functionalities.

The 6040 machine wiht LPT port connection does not have a motion controller at all, it only has a breakout board with a LPT port connection (DSUB25).
So, you can connect that to one of our motion controllers and then configure the UCCNC to the pinout of the breakout board in your machine.
BTW, we have posted a thread in which we have attached the settings file for these 6040 machines.

And yes, the same machine is available on e-bay with LPT port connections. You can even see on the e-bay listing photos if it has USB or DSUB, so just view a few listings and check the photos and look for the DSUB25 connector...

Re: Can I Replace Mach3 with UCCNC on 6040 USB

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 1:53 am
by eddiegnz1
CNCDRIVE, that definitely helped me a lot :-)
The UC100 http://cncdrive.com/UC100.html
is only for Windows XP, it says in the above link.
But the manual says it can work with 64bit windows10.

The following eBay listing has what I'm guessing is the DSUB25;
So is this the 6040 I need to buy and then just buy the above UC100 and the UCCNC software?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/1-5KW-CNC-3-AXIS-6040-ROUTER-ENGRAVER-ENGRAVING-CARVING-Metalworking-1500W-HOT/323832130992?hash=item4b65e62db0:g:HcIAAOSwzVVcrwsA

Re: Can I Replace Mach3 with UCCNC on 6040 USB

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:39 am
by ger21
The UC100 http://cncdrive.com/UC100.html
is only for Windows XP, it says in the above link.


No, that's not what it says.

What is says is that if you use XP, you need to install additional software from Microsoft.

Re: Can I Replace Mach3 with UCCNC on 6040 USB

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:57 am
by eddiegnz1
thank you ger21, i'm clear now on that XP thing.

Ok, but the 6040 that i'm looking at buying has a 1,500 spindle that needs 400kHz to reach full RPM's of up to 24,000. So the UC100 won't work right, because it only goes up to 100kHz.
So must I use the UC400ETH or the UC300ETH?

I think I want to go with UCCNC but i'm so desperate at this point that I don't really care if it's mach or UCCNC...the important thing to me is that the 1,500 watt spindle can properly function at its full range of RPM up to 24,000

Re: Can I Replace Mach3 with UCCNC on 6040 USB

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 5:43 am
by cncdrive
That is not 400 kHz what your VFD needs but 400 Hz only and 100 kHz is 100 000 Hz.
So, you are wrong, it will ofcourse work.

Re: Can I Replace Mach3 with UCCNC on 6040 USB

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 6:13 am
by Greolt
Don't want to drag this off topic but just quickly;

I have had more than one person, after reading the website, say that UCCNC will only work with XP.

How it reads makes perfect sense to me but some are confused by it. Maybe this needs to be made even clearer.