Machine Zero Offset

If you think you've found a bug post it here.

Re: Machine Zero Offset

Postby ger21 » Sun Dec 31, 2017 4:47 pm

Was just looking for a buffer when my program does a rapid G53 Z0 move.


Is this code from Fusion 360 by chance?

What's the purpose of the G53 Z0 move? You could always change it to G53 Z-2, or remove it altogether if it's not needed.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1187
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Machine Zero Offset

Postby ThreeDJ16 » Sun Dec 31, 2017 5:03 pm

ger21 wrote:
Was just looking for a buffer when my program does a rapid G53 Z0 move.


Is this code from Fusion 360 by chance?

What's the purpose of the G53 Z0 move? You could always change it to G53 Z-2, or remove it altogether if it's not needed.


Yup. That's exactly what I did at first. Changed the post to do that. But at the time I was trying to work around the Machine Zero Offset. But as you mentioned, it would be great with my current settings at zero. Thanks for that as then I would have the buffer. I also need to get rid of the tool change position the fusion post puts in there since it's built in UCCNC or screenset 2017 already. Fusion sends it to 0,0,0 and I dont use that coordinate.

Thanks again.
ThreeDJ16
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:57 pm

Re: Machine Zero Offset

Postby ger21 » Sun Dec 31, 2017 5:21 pm

Writing a new Fusion 360 post is on my very long list of things to do.....
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1187
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Machine Zero Offset

Postby ThreeDJ16 » Sun Dec 31, 2017 5:30 pm

ger21 wrote:Writing a new Fusion 360 post is on my very long list of things to do.....

Ouch, I bet that would be fun....not.....LOL. The generic UCCNC post isn't bad. You helped me tweak it months back, as I was getting a double tool change. I've since figured out how to make a few improvements myself. But more options for posts would be great.
ThreeDJ16
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:57 pm

Re: Machine Zero Offset

Postby Gary Campbell » Thu Jan 18, 2018 2:12 am

I have another question about the relationship between the Machine Zero Offset and the Softlimit settings. It appears that the softlimits cannot be located inboard of the switches. Note: Using current release 1.2047 and 2017 Screenset(latest)

X axis: mach zero offset=-0.25 Desired lo softlim= 0
Y axis: mach zero offset=-0.25 Desired lo softlim=0
Z axis: mach zero offset=0.125 Desired softlim=0

UCCNC/2017 Screenset will not accept these settings. Evidenced by all mach zero offsets can be set and saved and as soon as the zeros are entered into the softlimit lo/hi boxes as above, the mach zero offset values change to zero when the apply/save buttons are pressed. Of course if I match the numbers, then the values will save with no issue. Is this a UCCNC issue or in the screenset?

Item 2: After homing is there a way to have the machine traverse to the (G53X0Y0) location as part of the homing routine?
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
gcnc411(at)gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos
Gary Campbell
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 8:25 pm

Re: Machine Zero Offset

Postby ger21 » Thu Jan 18, 2018 3:41 am

I just checked, and it's not a screen issue. If you turn off softlimits, it will let you save the -0.25. But as soon as you turn them on, it reverts to 0. Woks the same in the default screen.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1187
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Machine Zero Offset

Postby cncdrive » Thu Jan 18, 2018 4:32 am

1.) Yes, it is not possible to set the machine coords out of the softlimits range. This is not possible in the software version you refering to.
It is only possible to do this in test version 1.2101 which has a back-off distance which makes it possible to move there with the backoff.

2.) There is a back-off distance parameter in test version 1.2101.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2361
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: Machine Zero Offset

Postby Gary Campbell » Thu Jan 18, 2018 12:37 pm

Balazs...
Thanks Youve confirmed my suspicions. This is a small machine build for a new user. Best that he stays on a release version
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
gcnc411(at)gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos
Gary Campbell
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 8:25 pm

Previous

Return to Report a bug

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron