UCR201 pendant bug ???

If you think you've found a bug post it here.

UCR201 pendant bug ???

Postby beefy » Sat Jul 27, 2019 11:25 pm

Hi Balazs,

having my very first play with the UCR201 (UCCNC in demo mode on my office PC).

By the way it took just 4 days to arrive with DHL Express, awesome.

One of the main attractions of the wireless pendant was dealing with tip ups in a long arty cut. Press the stop button, pick out the tip up, and restart. However, something which came as a surprise was that if the stop button was pressed more than once the gcode file rewound back to the beginning, definitely not something I'd want in the middle of a cut. It would be easy to accidentally press the stop button more than once in a "panic" situation.

The stop button on the main screen does not do this.

Keith.
beefy
 
Posts: 372
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 10:34 am

Re: UCR201 pendant bug ???

Postby beefy » Sat Aug 03, 2019 4:23 am

Balazs, you there ?
beefy
 
Posts: 372
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 10:34 am

Re: UCR201 pendant bug ???

Postby cncdrive » Sun Aug 04, 2019 8:59 pm

Hi Keith,

I was away and I hate to type one my cell phone. :(
Dezsoe please check this issue out, I mean please test it and report back to me.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3239
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: UCR201 pendant bug ???

Postby dezsoe » Mon Aug 05, 2019 6:59 am

Hi All,

The stop button is programmed to rewind for the second press.
dezsoe
 
Posts: 1035
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:41 pm
Location: Csörög, Hungary

Re: UCR201 pendant bug ???

Postby beefy » Mon Aug 05, 2019 11:38 am

dezsoe wrote:Hi All,

The stop button is programmed to rewind for the second press.


Hi Dezsoe,

that came as a bit of a shock. I don't know what others think, but to me that's a very bad thing to do with the stop button.

There could be a number of situations where someone "panics" and hits the stop button more than once. I.E. they don't want and emergency reset where they will lose position, etc, but they need to stop the program in a hurry.

Another time they could press the stop button more than once is if the screen timeout has occurred and they press the stop button several times to turn the screen back on plus make the buttons active.

Is there no way we could have the plugin modified so it's an option in the configuration box whether the stop button is stop only or rewind with a 2nd press.

Keith.
beefy
 
Posts: 372
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 10:34 am

Re: UCR201 pendant bug ???

Postby dezsoe » Mon Aug 05, 2019 1:46 pm

Hi Keith,

We are planning to make a checkbox to let this feature to turn on or off. I think in the next test release it will be there.
dezsoe
 
Posts: 1035
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:41 pm
Location: Csörög, Hungary

Re: UCR201 pendant bug ???

Postby cncdrive » Mon Aug 05, 2019 4:06 pm

I don't know what my collegue thought when he implemented this feature?! :)
But it is clear that it is a feature not a bug since it is described in the code comments that it has to do this...
Anyways ofcourse we will remove this feature to checkbox selectable.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3239
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: UCR201 pendant bug ???

Postby beefy » Mon Aug 05, 2019 10:27 pm

Ha ha, maybe your colleague is not a plasma cutting guy that deals with lots of tip ups and has his finger constantly over the stop button.

Seriously though, that is fantastic and I'm very happy.

Thanks very much Balazs and Dezsoe.

Keith.
beefy
 
Posts: 372
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 10:34 am

Re: UCR201 pendant bug ???

Postby beefy » Sat Oct 05, 2019 6:55 am

cncdrive wrote:I don't know what my collegue thought when he implemented this feature?! :)
But it is clear that it is a feature not a bug since it is described in the code comments that it has to do this...
Anyways ofcourse we will remove this feature to checkbox selectable.


Hi Balazs,

any idea when the checkbox will be getting implemented. Can't see it in the newest version I've just downloaded.

Cheers,

Keith
beefy
 
Posts: 372
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 10:34 am

Re: UCR201 pendant bug ???

Postby beefy » Sun Oct 06, 2019 8:28 pm

Bump.

I'm guessing this was missed because other posts are being responded to.

Keith.
beefy
 
Posts: 372
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 10:34 am

Next

Return to Report a bug

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests