No motor movement after set up

Forum for Discussing Mach3/4 related issues

No motor movement after set up

Postby Chris1968 » Fri Apr 24, 2020 7:18 am

Greetings all,

Well 6040cnc is all connected, spindle runs fine. UC100 controller fitted and drivers installed, solid green and blue LED's, Mach 3 installed. Now as keen as I am to get going and experiment with my new toy I dont know where to start. The first thing I have attempted is simple jogging of X & Y using the keyboard on the PC or via Mach3 but that doesnt appear to be working. Ive tried running a sample.nc file for a simple circle and although Mach 3 appears to be going through the motions my bed is 100% motionless. I am I confess an utter newbie with this so have probably either done something wrong or not done something that I need to so if anyone has any suggestions I would be sooooooo grateful.

I can supply a couple of screenshots in case it helps.


Cheers, Chris
Chris1968
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 7:00 am
Location: Leighton Buzzard, UK

Re: No motor movement after set up

Postby Robertspark » Fri Apr 24, 2020 1:10 pm

Have you wired the ena (enable) on the stepper drives?
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2110, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2110 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1740
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: No motor movement after set up

Postby Chris1968 » Sat Apr 25, 2020 3:45 pm

Hi Robert,

The motors are just connected to rear of the CNC Controller unit in their appropriate sockets.

So I havent wired anything as such, just plugged them in.
Chris1968
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 7:00 am
Location: Leighton Buzzard, UK

Re: No motor movement after set up

Postby ger21 » Sun Apr 26, 2020 12:21 am

Have you enabled the axes and setup the port and pin numbers?
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1832
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: No motor movement after set up

Postby Chris1968 » Sun Apr 26, 2020 8:12 am

Hi Gerry, yes as far as I can tell Mach3 has applied default settings. I'll attach some screen shots.
Attachments
95074127_10157064058023038_3841089845241839616_o.jpg
94566080_10157064060003038_4029527665588305920_o.jpg
94128242_10157064088023038_3408667796236664832_o.jpg
Chris1968
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 7:00 am
Location: Leighton Buzzard, UK

Re: No motor movement after set up

Postby Demusman » Sun Apr 26, 2020 10:28 am

Step one would be to get rid of Mach 3/ It's ancient.
But then there really is no "default" setup. You have to configure it correctly.
The pins are off. Use this:
https://www.china-cncrouter.com/news/Ch ... Setup.html
Demusman
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 7:38 pm

Re: No motor movement after set up

Postby Robertspark » Sun Apr 26, 2020 10:28 am

is the Mach3 UC plugin installed + enabled?
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2110, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2110 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1740
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: No motor movement after set up

Postby ger21 » Sun Apr 26, 2020 11:14 am

as far as I can tell Mach3 has applied default settings


1) Those are not default Mach3 settings. And there's no guarantee that any default settings are correct.
2) I've never seen anyone use those pin numbers for their motors. 99% of people use the pins shown in the link above.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1832
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: No motor movement after set up

Postby Robertspark » Sun Apr 26, 2020 3:08 pm

Bet the link you posted lists
2----3
4---5
6---7

Under step 2.5

Not
2---6
3---7
4---8
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2110, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2110 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1740
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: No motor movement after set up

Postby Chris1968 » Sun Apr 26, 2020 5:46 pm

Demusman wrote:Step one would be to get rid of Mach 3/ It's ancient.
But then there really is no "default" setup. You have to configure it correctly.
The pins are off. Use this:
https://www.china-cncrouter.com/news/Ch ... Setup.html


Thank you Demusman, for this.

Some good news but only some. Since using the instructions from the ChinaCNCzone page I have power getting to the motors but no actual movement. When Mach3 is open and I use the fly out to jog, I am getting movement within Mach3 (the coordinates change also when using the arrow keys) but no physical movement of the bed. Also, the motor hand wheel do not want to turn by hand whilst Mach3 is on so they must be energized? Lastly, when I shut down Mach3 the machine jolts which is movement of some kind I guess. I have checked through all my settings again and I am 100% certain I am correct as far as the chinacnczone guide in concerned.
Chris1968
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 7:00 am
Location: Leighton Buzzard, UK

Next

Return to Mach3/4 Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests