Lathe tool offsets

While UCCNC does not currently have a TURN Modual Here is the place to discuss your wants and wishes for TURN

Lathe tool offsets

Postby Derek » Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:58 pm

So in my list of must haves I forgot tool offsets. With a mill only the Z axis uses a tool offset. With a lathe it needs both Z and X. Since UCCNC only uses the Z offset when G43 Hxx is applied a workaround will need to happen. This really is a deal breaker for me since I have a quick change tool post and touching off each time is a non starter.

Thanks
Derek
Derek
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:57 am

Re: Lathe tool offsets

Postby Vmax549 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 1:21 pm

I thought I just gave you a work around (;-)

G43 H1 sets Z offsets
G52 X.5000 sets teh X offset
G0 X0 applies teh Xoffset

OR possibly you could do a G41/42 to apply X

G41 D1 Applies X comp
X0 First move is a leadin move to comp X
This would have to be tested to see HOW UCCNC would react with X moves in turn under G41 control.

But I KNOW that G52 works as that is how it was done BEFORE tool comp came along.

(;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Lathe tool offsets

Postby Vmax549 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 1:46 pm

OK G41/42 will NOT work in G18 mode so that leaves that out(;-)

(;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Lathe tool offsets

Postby Vmax549 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 4:01 pm

Derek Just as a teaser I have a M6 macro already setup to run a TOOL TURRET(chinese) tool changer.

We took teh stock motor off and put a stepper in its place. AWSOME it was (;-)

Teh turrent has an special unlock /lock sequence and UCCNC handles it very well.

(;-)TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Lathe tool offsets

Postby Vmax549 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 11:11 pm

OK I think I can make this painless for now. You can use teh Tool data (length = Z and Diam =X) to update teh G55 values for Z and X.

Refhome G54

Call tool change M6T1 teh macro updates teh offset values for G55 based on Tool# and tool data.
Call G55 that applies teh Z and X offsets automatically
Call G0 Z0 X0 UCcnc will then move to teh new offset positions in ZX
M6End
Return to Gcode

Each time you call for a Tool Change it will update teh New G55 positions ready for offsetting. Then after teh tool change motions it will apply teh G55 again offsetting teh tool position.

Just a thought (;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA


Return to UCCNC TURN (CNC Lathe)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests