What is everyone using for TURN at present? Mach3, Mach4??

While UCCNC does not currently have a TURN Modual Here is the place to discuss your wants and wishes for TURN

What is everyone using for TURN at present? Mach3, Mach4??

Postby Robertspark » Wed Jun 06, 2018 3:56 pm

I know this may be controversial, but I also know that there are a number of knowledgeable people who frequent this forum and I really like my UC motion controllers...

Given UCCNC does not support turning applications without attempting to hack it, those that have lathes, what gcode interpreter are you running? Mach3, Mach4 ?? {what other alternative that LinuxCNC are there for turning applications in a mill flooded cnc world}?

With regards to Mach3 and mach4, what do the UC motion controllers offer by way of synchronous motion? {if I used Mach4.... would it operate with an encoder, or are we back to single pulse per rev as per mach3 for attempting spindle sync?}
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2106, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2105 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1002
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: What is everyone using for TURN at present? Mach3, Mach4

Postby Vmax549 » Wed Jun 06, 2018 5:24 pm

IF I were to build a new lathe I would use Centroid Acorn as DIY solution.

Just don't expect a Fancy windows type GUI as it is basically teh old DOS GUI in a new wrapper.

But it all works as advertised.

(;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1379
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: What is everyone using for TURN at present? Mach3, Mach4

Postby cncdrive » Wed Jun 06, 2018 9:28 pm

We advice to not to use the UCCNC on lathes, because several lathe functions are missing for comfortable lathe usage.
With Mach3 the syncronous thread cutting is working, but there are a few bugs in Mach3 about the thread cutting which can cause issues with some type of thread cutting codes. (I can't remember at the moment which are the cases.)
With Mach4 the UC controllers can't cut threads. We have tried to implement thread cutting some time ago, but found out that it did not work at all on the Mach4 side, so we gave up on it.
Later it was reported to be fixed, but we could not find the time yet to make another try.
With the UCCNC the syncronous thread cutting works perfectly, but again there are missing lathe functions...
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: What is everyone using for TURN at present? Mach3, Mach4

Postby Vmax549 » Fri Jun 08, 2018 3:14 pm

It would NOT take a whole lot to make a basic UCCNC turn modual. It is mainly a visual toolpath problem and converting teh DROs from radius to diameter would get it going.

It does all teh basics AND encoder threading right now.

(;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1379
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: What is everyone using for TURN at present? Mach3, Mach4

Postby ger21 » Fri Jun 08, 2018 4:14 pm

Would it not be better to spin off a separate turn product, rather than a one size fits all approach? That would seem to lower the complexity of both UCCNC and a UCCNC Lathe program.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: What is everyone using for TURN at present? Mach3, Mach4

Postby cncdrive » Fri Jun 08, 2018 5:12 pm

Gerry,

It is a good question.
My thought now is that if we make a separate software for lathe that would really make both softwares simpler, but the same time it would be harder to maintain 2 separate softwares.
So, I see both advantage and disadvantage in making 2 separate softwares.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: What is everyone using for TURN at present? Mach3, Mach4

Postby Robertspark » Fri Jun 08, 2018 6:39 pm

I guess the advantage of two products is additional licence fee potential (I'd pay it.... I don't want yet another motion controller....)

I've thought about swapping axis about so it's akin to a vertical mill.... That way threading should work ok
.....
Feed per revolution / surface speed correction doesn't though without the hack in attempted...

I guess you could use the underlying code and just enable mill / router / plasma with one licence, and turn / rotary axis with another licence code

I've been looking at PMDX-414 for a mach4 lathe compatible (spindle sync/ encoder input) (i still have my mach4 licence so it's just the motion controller cost)

I like the availability of the turn wizards in mach4

I looked at the centroid acorn.... The glitch i saw was the required minimum pc specification ..... Single core performance of 1500 and greater. https://www.cpubenchmark.net/singleThread.html ... For me that would mean another pc upgrade.... Plus motion controller... Plus lathe Pro software....plus another learning curve...

Linux CNC lathe lacks the wizards.... hence not going that way for the moment, but it have a working RT linux + linuxcnc setup so that would be another option

I wonder what it would take to get uc300+400 motion controllers mach4 plugin with spindle sync encoder input?

Admittedly... I need to finish off the mechanical conversion first of my lathe which is am going to try again at making a concerted effort to finish before motion controllers are required and decisions must be made....
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2106, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2105 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1002
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: What is everyone using for TURN at present? Mach3, Mach4

Postby Vmax549 » Fri Jun 08, 2018 6:43 pm

IF you want to get the widest set of user groups for a turn app you would need to included teh Mill Turn guys and that pretty much means 1 program that can do both functions with a switch to change back and forth between the 2 (Mill_Turn) on teh Fly.

Just a thought, (;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1379
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: What is everyone using for TURN at present? Mach3, Mach4

Postby Derek » Fri Jun 08, 2018 7:16 pm

I'm using mach3 and pport with single input threading. It works but I would love to have encoder threading.

For me it always comes back to tool offsets. There is no way I can run my lathe with only Z offset.
Derek
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:57 am

Re: What is everyone using for TURN at present? Mach3, Mach4

Postby Vmax549 » Fri Jun 08, 2018 7:43 pm

Mach3 and UCcontroller does WORK in Turn. There is a small glitch in one of teh Threading functions I think it is threading pullout. I can look in my notes and let you know.

IF I remembercorrectly you can overcome that problem with only using G32/33 to thread with instead of teh G76. I did a macro to make G32/33 threading easier to deal with. OR if you CAM can handle it teh more teh better.

You can still encoder thread with it though.

And I have a Macro to run one of the chinese rotary tool turrents . I have it both ways Mach3 AND UCCNC.

X offsets are easy :)

(;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1379
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Next

Return to UCCNC TURN (CNC Lathe)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest