Two start points.

Post anything you want to discuss with others about the software.

Two start points.

Postby badgersurfer » Tue Jan 16, 2018 8:36 pm

I would like to know if it is possible to set up two start points so when I click Goto Zero I can select either one. I am producing products that are mounted in two jigs on my Stepcraft 420. Each jig has a pin at x0y0 enabling me to quickly align the tool and Set Zero. When I do my run I then have to go to the next jig and reset x0y0 then when I have done change tools and go back to the original jig. I then have to set x0yo again. It would be nice if I could set the two start point set of coordinates, click a button to either one. The jigs stay in the same place all the time. I don't know if it is achievable to program the two points and assign them to two buttons?
badgersurfer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 10:32 am

Re: Two start points.

Postby dezsoe » Tue Jan 16, 2018 8:39 pm

This is what the fixtures are for. In UCCNC there are 6 fixture offsets: G54..G59. Goto Zero goes to the zero point of the selected fixture, so if you set up two of them then you only have to select and do your job.
dezsoe
 
Posts: 496
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:41 pm
Location: Csörög, Hungary

Re: Two start points.

Postby dezsoe » Tue Jan 16, 2018 8:43 pm

And answering your original question: yes. The Goto Zero button calls the M204 macro, which you can edit to do what you want. See the Documentation folder for more details. (Or, of course, ask here.)
dezsoe
 
Posts: 496
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:41 pm
Location: Csörög, Hungary

Re: Two start points.

Postby ger21 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 8:56 pm

Park Positions?
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Two start points.

Postby dezsoe » Tue Jan 16, 2018 9:24 pm

No, he has two workpieces and switches between them over and over. This is the classic sample for using fixtures. (If I understood the problem...)
dezsoe
 
Posts: 496
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:41 pm
Location: Csörög, Hungary

Re: Two start points.

Postby Vmax549 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 9:32 pm

You Could do 2 hotkeys (ctrl1) and (ctrl2) that selects the proper work offset (G54/G55). IF you did not want to fiddle with work offsets you could use teh keys to move to teh offset pos and G52 or 92 back to zero.

Just a thought, (;-) TP .
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Two start points.

Postby badgersurfer » Tue Jan 16, 2018 11:00 pm

Thanks for the help folks. I will get the manual up and read up on what you suggest.
badgersurfer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 10:32 am

Re: Two start points.

Postby ger21 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 11:25 pm

Yes, fixtures or offsets are the answer.
My answer was a classic example of what happens when you don't read the entire post. :roll:
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am


Return to General discussion about the UCCNC software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests