Uccnc + scananything ?

Post anything you want to discuss with others about the software.

Uccnc + scananything ?

Postby Robertspark » Sat Nov 04, 2017 9:52 am

http://www.sheetcam.com/Scanything/index

Just wondering, as I saw a method posted yesterday if developing a plugin for scananything >> uccnc was a little more feasible now through the use of the method given here? (To directly control an axis)

Code: Select all
AddLinearMoveRel(int Axis, double Step, int StepCount, double Speed, bool Dir
)

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=843


Don't believe I'd seen this method / function before in the documentation
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2108, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2108 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1208
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: Uccnc + scananything ?

Postby cncdrive » Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:33 am

Yes, this method is hidden in the plugin interface, because we did not want to make it fully public, because it directly calling the API, adding motion directly into the motion buffer without using the g-code interpreter of the UCCNC, and we were afraid that if the function prototype goes fully public then people might use it incorrectly and we will then have a hard time to debug 3rd party plugins if there will be problems with the plugin calling this function.

So, the function is in the plugin interface, but we disabled it in the Intellisense, so the C# compliler (e.g. VisualStudio) will not show you the function prototype.
But if a function call is typed correctly then it still works.

And we advice to use this function in pendant plugins for step jog movements, we used the same in the HB04 and UCR200 pendants and it works fine.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2461
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: Uccnc + scananything ?

Postby 1JUMPER10 » Mon Nov 06, 2017 5:54 am

Robert - are you working on a plugin for scanything? If you need a beta tester I'm volunteering. :D
1JUMPER10
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 1:54 am

Re: Uccnc + scananything ?

Postby Robertspark » Tue Nov 07, 2017 6:11 pm

Hi Terry, to be fair I got quite a favourable response from Les

http://forum.sheetcam.com/viewtopic.php?t=7613

But in the meantime I also had a pondering look at how line following robots work and more specifically those that use a camera, and came across OpenCV, and it's c# wrapper Emgu CV of which OpenCV has been used with raspberry pi / beagle bone for line following robots.

I guess the concern I have is the cost of the API given scananything costs £50 I think it is which is not a lot in my mind although I'm uncertain how pricing an API would work whilst still being sufficient for the developer to obtain some remuneration for their work.
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2108, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2108 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1208
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: Uccnc + scananything ?

Postby Robertspark » Tue Nov 07, 2017 6:36 pm

I am also aware that one of the unique features of UCCNC + UC motion controllers is the serial number + licenced to name.

Hence via field 906 and 901 it is possible within the plugin to allow for registration of plugins for remuneration (although I've never seen the need to do it / created anything that would warrent such a charging arrangement).

But there is the possibility however to use such an arrangement.
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2108, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2108 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1208
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: Uccnc + scananything ?

Postby sngatlanta » Tue Apr 17, 2018 10:12 pm

Did anything ever develop from this? I would be very interested in the capability.
sngatlanta
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 11:12 pm
Location: Little Rock, AR USA

Re: Uccnc + scananything ?

Postby Robertspark » Tue Apr 17, 2018 11:28 pm

No, best use mach3 with the UC motion controllers
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2108, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2108 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1208
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: Uccnc + scananything ?

Postby sngatlanta » Wed Apr 18, 2018 2:25 pm

It's possible to run mach3 from my 300eth/ub1 combination?
sngatlanta
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 11:12 pm
Location: Little Rock, AR USA

Re: Uccnc + scananything ?

Postby dezsoe » Wed Apr 18, 2018 2:30 pm

Yes. UC300ETH (the core on the UB1) works with Mach3. See http://www.cncroom.com/interface-cards/ub1.
dezsoe
 
Posts: 639
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:41 pm
Location: Csörög, Hungary

Re: Uccnc + scananything ?

Postby Robertspark » Wed Apr 18, 2018 2:31 pm

Oh yes, most definitely.

Mach3 plugin here (+_MAch4 too)

https://www.cncdrive.com/UC300ETH.html

You'll obviously need to setup the profile with all your ports and pins etc as per normal.
Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2108, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2108 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 1208
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Next

Return to General discussion about the UCCNC software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests