Units setup

Post anything you want to discuss with others about the software.

Units setup

Postby jtb223 » Fri Sep 16, 2016 1:29 am

I'm curious to know how others set up UCCNC for different units. I'm new to all of this so I created two profiles, one for mm and the other for inch. It's easy enough to switch between the two for different jobs. I even took advantage of the option to create a desktop icon for each profile. Of course this means that anything that I do in one profile (setting up macros, etc.) needs to be done again in the other profile. Is this common or is there another way to do this?

thanks, Jim
jtb223

Re: Units setup

Postby Robertspark » Fri Sep 16, 2016 6:40 pm

I did ask about G20 / G21 here, and didn't really get anywhere .
http://www.cnczone.com/forums/uccnc-control-software/310716-uccnc-g20-g21-g70-71-a.html

At that time, I thought that the issue would be rescaling the units, velocity and acceleration from one unit to the other based upon whatever was coded prefixed within the g-code.

But in hindsight, the alternative way to do this would be to just scale the blended trajectory within the motion planner. The negative side to this would be at present uccnc is not aware if the axis are linear or rotary, they are just units, hence there would be the complexity of scaling the axis trajectory within the motion planner and excluding the rotary axis, then using this as the blended trajectory......

..... its probably easier just to have a few profiles with whatever units you want to work in (linear, imperial, metric or angular) .....
complexity simplified ...... there didn't also appear to be any support for G20 / G21 as I guess most people have a softness for one or the other in their thought process / available tooling and measurement apparatus.