FRO & SSO with encoders now possible

Post anything you want to discuss with others about the software.

Re: FRO & SSO with encoders now possible

Postby cncdrive » Fri Feb 10, 2017 1:18 am

Hi Terry,

You asked for this functionality, so you got it. :)

One thing to mention which is mentioned also in the manual, but I thought to mention it here also to make it clear that this new functionality is only available with out ethernet controllers (UC400ETH, UC300ETH) and not with the USB ones (UC100, UC300).
The USB ones have no enough resources to implement the 6 aux encoders, because they require fast input pins polling which is too much for the older processors in the USB controller.

P.S.: If you will have some time please also test the spindle PID controller which is the other new feature we've just added.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2461
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: FRO & SSO with encoders now possible

Postby ger21 » Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:34 am

Are you using macroloops for this?
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1265
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: FRO & SSO with encoders now possible

Postby Kelevra » Fri Feb 10, 2017 9:39 pm

Did you test it only with high resulution TTL encoders like the ones used on servos and closed loop steppers or do the simple rotary knobs would work aswell like the ALPS STEC12E?
Just curious to know because the more expensive encoders i usually reserve for my servos.

regards
Patrick
Kelevra
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 8:13 am

Re: FRO & SSO with encoders now possible

Postby Battwell » Sat Feb 11, 2017 1:05 am

wondering if i can add my encoder dros from my servo feedback from my galil controller- when running analogue.
would be nice to be able to monitor position dead accurate - from the feedback loop.
its set at 4000ppr at the moment (16000 quad)
il look into this at some point- time!!!
i was going to do this using modbus- but the galil controllers will only run as modbus master :-(
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 416
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: FRO & SSO with encoders now possible

Postby Kelevra » Sat Feb 11, 2017 11:46 am

Battwell wrote:wondering if i can add my encoder dros from my servo feedback from my galil controller- when running analogue.
would be nice to be able to monitor position dead accurate - from the feedback loop.
its set at 4000ppr at the moment (16000 quad)
il look into this at some point- time!!!
i was going to do this using modbus- but the galil controllers will only run as modbus master :-(


Using those inputs to close the loops is not possible according to the documentation.
That might be due to load reasons because the amount of encoder counts on 3 axis or more would be really high.

I just tried setting up two cheap simple 24s/rev encoders and it couldn'd have been any easier.
Now i of course have to tie that into the feed and speed override, so its time to get used to the whole macroloop thing.

regards
Kelevra
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 8:13 am

Re: FRO & SSO with encoders now possible

Postby Kelevra » Sat Feb 11, 2017 6:29 pm

Vmax549 wrote:I think A-C was talking about just bringing teh actual axis positions back into UCcnc for display.

When you start working with teh FRO and SSO it can be a little tricky because of teh % sign being included in teh DRO value.

(;-) TP


Did you get it working good tough?
Right now i'm just trying to understand how to use a macro loop to read out the fields of the encoders and then send them to the buttons.
I'm sure having a hard time but i hope in the end i'll get there.
Kelevra
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 8:13 am


Return to General discussion about the UCCNC software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests