Implementing rotary axis on engraver

Post anything you want to discuss with others about the software.

Implementing rotary axis on engraver

Postby gordonb » Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:31 am

Please be gentle with me, I'm just starting out on the cnc journey and am still struggling with one or two concepts!

Here's the story so far. I was given a non functional commercial rotary engraving machine, a Suregrave Rotation S (top of the range in its day) and I've built a new control system for it based on an AXBB-E. Pleased to say that it works superbly and I had no real problems getting it working. However, the machine is also equipped with a rotary axis, the whole bed assembly can be rotated and the rotary axis brought into play, photo of the machine in its original form should show the basic arrangement, and I'd really like to get this implemented if possible.

I think what I need to do is to find a way of swapping the connection of the stepper motors from the Z axis stepper to the rotary axis stepper, measure the diameter of the workpiece, calculate the steps per unit based on the 200 steps per rev of the stepper, the 90:1 gearbox it's attached to, the microsteps the driver is set for and the circumference of the workpiece. This does seem a touch complicated and if there's a simpler way of doing it I'd love to hear about it! Also it looks like I'd have to physically change over the motor connections before switch on to select the rotary axis. I had hoped I could tell UCCNC to regard the A axis as the Z axis but I can't find a way of doing that as setting the A axis as a slave to the Z axis means that when I deselect the Z axis the A axis is also deselected.

Am I missing something blindingly obvious here? Wouldn't be the first time! Can anyone offer any advice on how to implement the rotary axis in a simpler form? All help and advice gratefully received!
Attachments
Rotation S.jpg
gordonb

Re: Implementing rotary axis on engraver