Future software update...

Post anything you want to discuss with others about the software.

Re: Future software update...

Postby awschmitz7 » Tue May 15, 2018 1:58 am

That’s what I’m looking. Actual diameter of the tool. I use haas controllers for work so I’m familiar with the tool tables on their controllers. I typically will use actual diameter if I’m running a roughing end mill and then change the diameter for finishing. But actual diameter would work the same in the place of tool wear.
awschmitz7
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 7:07 pm

Re: Future software update...

Postby beefy » Tue May 15, 2018 11:41 am

And as I explained before about how I'd stop a program mid cut to add/subtract from the tool wear (or as been mentioned here, simply modify the tool radius for example), would UCCNC recalculate the tool path from the mid cut restart point.

I.E. UCCNC would have to be programmed to "take note" that a tool radius had been modified mid cut. I have no idea at present how it works if tool radius compensation was working. Would it just look at the TRC at the beginning of a cut, and not again ??
beefy
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 10:34 am

Re: Future software update...

Postby ger21 » Tue May 15, 2018 12:17 pm

You'd need to do a Run From Here, from a point prior to the G41/G42.
Any other way would be asking way too much from UCCNC.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Future software update...

Postby dezsoe » Tue May 15, 2018 1:14 pm

You can change tool diameter during code run, you just need to update the source. E.g. you can have a memory variable that a macroloop changes when needed. Here is a little code samle (with bad approach :)). I wrote fix numbers in the G10 L1 lines, but if you write #variable then it updates while running.

Code: Select all
G10 L1 P48 R1.5
G17 G40
G0 X0 Y0 Z10
G0 X2 Y2
F500
G41 D48
G1 Z0
G1 X5 Y5
Y15
X15
G10 L1 P48 R1.4
G41 D48
Y5
X5
G0 Z10
G40
G1 X0 Y0
M30


g10l1.png
dezsoe
 
Posts: 496
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:41 pm
Location: Csörög, Hungary

Re: Future software update...

Postby awschmitz7 » Tue May 15, 2018 1:51 pm

beefy wrote:And as I explained before about how I'd stop a program mid cut to add/subtract from the tool wear (or as been mentioned here, simply modify the tool radius for example), would UCCNC recalculate the tool path from the mid cut restart point.

I.E. UCCNC would have to be programmed to "take note" that a tool radius had been modified mid cut. I have no idea at present how it works if tool radius compensation was working. Would it just look at the TRC at the beginning of a cut, and not again ??


I’m not sure what you mean by modifying tool radius in the middle of a program. Unless of course you forgot to compensate for the exact tool diameter prior to running a program. Where I’m coming from is making these fine adjustments at setup in the controller itself prior to running a part. I believe Mach software allows you to do this. I may be wrong. It’s not a deal breaking feature to have, like I said, I can program my cam software with these values in mind. It’s more of a convenience factor being that I don’t have to readjust my actual tool values in cam if my tool has wear or I’m using a brand new tool.
awschmitz7
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 7:07 pm

Re: Future software update...

Postby cncdrive » Tue May 15, 2018 2:05 pm

You can change the tool diameter value any time. For example if your tool dia is 6mm, but it worn out to 5.95mm then you can type in the new tool dia value.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2115
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: Future software update...

Postby ger21 » Tue May 15, 2018 2:06 pm

As I said before, the current test release of UCCNC supports G41/G42, which allows you to do this. There are still some issues with lead-in moves, but other than that, it seems to work well.

As Terry said, you must use G41/G42 for tool compensation.

Mach3 does not have a wear offset, but Mach4 does. But you still need to use G41/G42.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Future software update...

Postby Vmax549 » Tue May 15, 2018 5:58 pm

Normally there are 2 points in teh process where you would adjust for Tool Wear.

(1) Start of program after you have measure teh previous part for tolerance

(2) At a preplanned stop point where you can measure teh tolerance and adjust teh tool wear.

At both points ToolComp is NOT active so making an adjustment is not a problem and teh new value comes into play at teh next ToolComp call in teh program.

To me teh WEAR input is teh best option. Using teh G10 meathod requires you to modify teh Gcode program to change teh value. Not teh best option.

(;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Future software update...

Postby limited660 » Fri Jun 29, 2018 11:36 am

Just to add some information, the tool comp information is only updated when the offset is called. In Fanuc this is typically done by using H and D words. You can change the offset in software but it doesn't change compensation until the H/D word is run.

M6 T5 - Loads tool 5
G43 H5 - Loads tool 5 height offset
G41/G42 D5 - Loads tool 5 diameter offset

Wear offsets on lathes are a little different as they apply without cutter compensation but still are not updated until a command like T0544 is called (T05 = index tool 5, 44 = load offset 44, they are usually the same numbers but I changed them for easier understanding).
limited660
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 1:13 pm

Previous

Return to General discussion about the UCCNC software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests