Fusion 360 and G41 G42

Post anything you want to discuss with others about the software.

Re: Fusion 360 and G41 G42

Postby andrewbishop66 » Sun Mar 11, 2018 10:49 pm

Hi All
thanks for the advice

Thanks for that Gerry I had looked at the post And decided I didnt know enough to mess with it will give yours a try on some simple holes and see how I get on

Thanks Andrew
andrewbishop66
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 9:05 pm

Re: Fusion 360 and G41 G42

Postby ger21 » Sun Mar 11, 2018 11:00 pm

I've only tested it with a profile cut, so be careful. :)
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1140
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Fusion 360 and G41 G42

Postby andrewbishop66 » Tue Mar 13, 2018 11:15 pm

Thanks Gerry

So this is a test hole
hold.png


and this is the g code with tool wear comp on using Gerrys post

withcomp.txt
(3.55 KiB) Downloaded 56 times



same one using normal post

withoutcomp.txt
(3.35 KiB) Downloaded 54 times


and last fanuc with comp

fanucwithcomp.txt
(2.29 KiB) Downloaded 51 times


My indoor profile for dummy runs

MillGarage_Probe1.pro
(34.79 KiB) Downloaded 53 times


Gerry was right about funny results as yesterday had some very odd effects on a tool path but tried it again tonight on dummy system and it was fine interestingly the fanuc seems to work ok as well

Needs more testing but thanks everyone Especially Gerry

Andrew
andrewbishop66
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 9:05 pm

Re: Fusion 360 and G41 G42

Postby andrewbishop66 » Tue Mar 13, 2018 11:33 pm

Ok the funny results happen when it is run in the default screen set
default.png

default1.png


picture if run in 2017 screen set

2017.png


and default profile
Default.pro
(29.09 KiB) Downloaded 48 times


Thanks again
andrewbishop66
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 9:05 pm

Re: Fusion 360 and G41 G42

Postby cncdrive » Tue Mar 13, 2018 11:44 pm

There should be no difference when loading g-code into the Default screenset or any other screensets.
A screenset is not influancing the g-code interpretation.

I think the difference is probably your tool diameter.
In one case your tool dia seems to be 0, because there is no offset at all and in the other case your tool dia is probably larger than the inside area of that path and so no connection point is found and about that you should receive a warning if the radius comp warnings are enabled and so the next circle will be not correct, because the previous connection point could not be created and so the next arc start point will be incorrect...
As I see there is G41 D8 in your code, so check what Tool dia 8. is.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2252
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: Fusion 360 and G41 G42

Postby ger21 » Wed Mar 14, 2018 12:43 am

cncdrive wrote:There should be no difference when loading g-code into the Default screenset or any other screensets.
A screenset is not influancing the g-code interpretation.


The 2017 Screenset does not have tool diameter DRO's, so you can't use comp with it at this time.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1140
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Fusion 360 and G41 G42

Postby cncdrive » Wed Mar 14, 2018 12:52 am

Gerry, this quickly explains why there is no offset when the code was loaded with your screenset. I mean not defined DROs when read always read as 0 value which in this case means 0 diameter for tool#8 which is used for radius compensation in the code posted. And I'm sure there is a large tool diameter defined for tool#8 when the same code was loaded with the default screenset.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2252
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: Fusion 360 and G41 G42

Postby ger21 » Wed Mar 14, 2018 1:09 am

andrewbishop66 wrote:Ok the funny results happen when it is run in the default screen set


This is related to the lead in move, which needs to have room for the comp to be applied.

I just looked, and it looks like you can't use comp in Fusion on pockets?
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1140
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Fusion 360 and G41 G42

Postby andrewbishop66 » Wed Mar 14, 2018 1:59 pm

Hi all

And I'm sure there is a large tool diameter defined for tool#8 when the same code was loaded with the default screenset.


You may be right as I was trying to see on the dros a larger movement with comp will check tonight

Thanks andrew
andrewbishop66
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 9:05 pm

Previous

Return to General discussion about the UCCNC software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests