Fusion 360 and G41 G42

Post anything you want to discuss with others about the software.

Fusion 360 and G41 G42

Postby andrewbishop66 » Thu Mar 08, 2018 10:57 pm

Anyone using a post processor in fusion 360 that adds in the g41 g42 if so hows it working
I'm looking to tweak to allow for tool run out

Thanks Andrew
andrewbishop66
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 9:05 pm

Re: Fusion 360 and G41 G42

Postby cncdrive » Thu Mar 08, 2018 11:09 pm

I'm also curious to hear about this, because I've never seen a CAM software which would add radius compensation codes.
But maybe Fusion 360 is different?!
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2253
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: Fusion 360 and G41 G42

Postby andrewbishop66 » Thu Mar 08, 2018 11:23 pm

Hi
in that case, I'm was mistaken as Im trying to get my head round g41 / g42 and how i can use it to compensate for over /undersized parts without having to go back into fusion to alter cutter size
Perhaps you can point me in the right direction


Thanks Andrew
andrewbishop66
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 9:05 pm

Re: Fusion 360 and G41 G42

Postby cncdrive » Thu Mar 08, 2018 11:40 pm

I don't think I can point you to the right direction, because my knowledge is yet close to zero on Fusion 360.
I only have general knowledge on CAM softwares and CNC controllers and I have also used a few of them, but I have never seen a CAM software which would put G41/G42 code into the posted g-code file.
I'm only saying that for me it sounds unusual if a CAM software would output G41/G42 codes, because a CAM software can do the path offset calculation for you with simply modifying the path,
and that will be always at least the same good but mostly better than what G41/G42 can do.
Because the CAM software calculates the path anyways when posting g-code it is not a problem for a CAM software to calculate an offset path instead of putting G41/G42 codes in the code file.
I understand that you want to G41/G42 on the file and not going back to the CAM and you can do that manually placing the codes in the file.
So, this is my knowledge and view on this topic and I could not tell much more about this, but maybe somebody else seeing this totally different and/or have more info on what you want to do.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2253
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: Fusion 360 and G41 G42

Postby ger21 » Fri Mar 09, 2018 1:03 am

I just checked and the current UCCNC post for Fusion 360 doesn't support G41/G42.
I'll need to figure out how to edit the post to make it work.

What you need to do is select compensation "In Control" , and use a post that supports it.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1140
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Fusion 360 and G41 G42

Postby CL_MotoTech » Fri Mar 09, 2018 9:03 pm

As Ger says, Fusion has a variety of options for compensation. For Mach I always choose in controller, sounds like with UCCNC you might want mark up tool size directly in Fusion for the time being. It's still easier than changing models, so you got that going for you, which is nice.
CL_MotoTech
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 3:50 pm

Re: Fusion 360 and G41 G42

Postby ger21 » Sat Mar 10, 2018 2:53 am

After hacking around with the post for an hour, I think I have it working, but will need to do more testing, and some more hacking.
I really don't know enough about editing Fusion posts, but I'm apparently making the right guesses. :)
I'll play around with it some more tomorrow.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1140
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Fusion 360 and G41 G42

Postby Zadig » Sat Mar 10, 2018 8:58 am

I looked at the Fusion post code a while back when UCCNC first started implementing cutter comp. It looked like some of the code was there, just not implemented.

I think with the increasing proliferation of Fusion amongst the type of users that are likely to use UCCNC it would be a wise move to be ahead of the game.

Watching one of the big Fusion Autodesk educators on YouTube recently, UCCNC was mentioned on a couple of occasions, with some future broadcast going into more detail and possibly raising more awareness - and validity - of the UCCNC product. Posts on the forum indicate a heavy bias towards routers, it would be nice to have a broader range of users and bring more mill owners onto the scene.

Thanks for all your hard work Gerry.
Zadig
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:17 pm
Location: UK

Re: Fusion 360 and G41 G42

Postby ger21 » Sat Mar 10, 2018 11:38 am

Yes, the code is already in the post, but it's disabled. I looked at the Mach3 post to see how to enable it.
I also had to add the D word and tool number, as the default post used O and the tool radius.

I'll post what I have later today, so others can test it.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1140
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Fusion 360 and G41 G42

Postby ger21 » Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:07 pm

OK, here's a Fusion 360 post that appears to work fine with G41/G42.

Results may be highly dependent on your toolpath settings in Fusion 360. Specifically lead in/lead out settings
Attachments
uccnc2.zip
(8.35 KiB) Downloaded 57 times
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1140
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Next

Return to General discussion about the UCCNC software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: stirling and 4 guests