Maximum g-code file size?

Post anything you want to discuss with others about the software.

Re: Maximum g-code file size?

Postby ger21 » Mon Feb 26, 2018 12:08 am

The 90Mb file now seems to load and run just fine in the new version.

I also was able to load a 145Mb file with 7.5 million lines of code. It also seemed to work, but caused an error when I opened it in the editor. The same also appeared to prevent UCCNC from closing the file.
It opened and closed just fine if I didn't use the editor, though.
One thing I noticed was that the GPU was working pretty hard with the file loaded, even when UCCNC was idle. On my laptop with a GTX 960M, it would stay between 70% and 80% use.
I'll test tomorrow evening on my desktop when I get home and see if it's better.

I also found out that it's hard to create a g-code file with 5+ million lines of code. It takes a long time to create the toolpaths. :)
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1143
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Maximum g-code file size?

Postby cncdrive » Mon Feb 26, 2018 12:43 am

Hi Gerry,

By "error" you mean an error message popped up saying the file is too large to be opened in the file editor?
If yes, then that is not a bug, that file size simply can't be opened in the file editor, so I've created an error message to avoid an exception and crashing of the application when it was trying to copy a larger text size as what the richtextbox control can handle. And richtextbox can handle the largest text size of all the windows controls. Listbox would collapse from even a much smaller amount of data.
That file size is even hard to be opened in notepad, if it even opens.
And yes, it is hard to even create that file size with copying the whole text behind the original text just to duplicate the size of the file.
Windows has issues with smoothly handling that size of data to be copied onto the clipboard and also notepad has issues handling and saving that file size. :)
And I was doing the file copy on our strongest computer, on a i7 with a total of 32GByte DDR4 RAMs. :)

And I will check the file closing issue.

Since now the UCCNC is using vertex buffer object to draw the toolpath it is all done by the GPU and optimally vertex data all in the VRAM, so the GPU does all the drawing of the toolpath drawing without CPU interaction.
Ofcourse this is the optimal case, OpenGL is more complex that this can be said on all and every systems and every cases though.
It is possible that the current refresh rate is a bit too high is why the GPU usage is so high, we can fine tune that later if it will be required.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2260
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: Maximum g-code file size?

Postby cncdrive » Mon Feb 26, 2018 12:57 am

I've just tested the file open of a 100MB file size and file edit and then on too large file size warning I selected Yes, I want to proceed.
The file took about 2 minutes to be loaded into the richtextbox on the file editor window, but it loaded. Then I pressed the Save and exit button in the editor and it took a few seconds for it to close.
And then I pressed close file in the UCCNC and the file closed.
So, when making the above steps the file editor is not causing issues with file closing, but probably you did something differently, I just don't know how, so please let me know what steps to do to reproduce the issue.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2260
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: Maximum g-code file size?

Postby ger21 » Mon Feb 26, 2018 3:26 am

cncdrive wrote:Hi Gerry,

By "error" you mean an error message popped up saying the file is too large to be opened in the file editor?


No,it was a crash with something about a "child", but I don't recall exactly now. I was able to continue working in the editor, then save and run the file. But when I went to then close the file, I got the same "crash" error, and the file wouldn't close. This was with a 145Mb file.

I did get the warning in the editor about being too large, but it did load.

My laptop is an i7 with 16Gb of RAM. At one point UCCNC was using 10Gb of RAM.
My PC at home is a 6 core i7 with 32Gb of DDR4, and is much faster.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1143
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Maximum g-code file size?

Postby cncdrive » Mon Feb 26, 2018 2:09 pm

Gerry,

Could you please reproduce it and send me the text from the error message window?
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2260
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: Maximum g-code file size?

Postby ger21 » Mon Feb 26, 2018 3:26 pm

I'm getting out a plane right now but I'll try when I get home
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1143
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Maximum g-code file size?

Postby ger21 » Tue Feb 27, 2018 1:26 am

Here's the error:

See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.ArgumentException: 'child' is not a child control of this parent.
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlCollection.GetChildIndex(Control child, Boolean throwException)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.UpdateChildControlIndex(Control ctl)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmWindowPosChanged(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.2633.0 built by: NET471REL1LAST_C
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework64/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
UCCNC
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/UCCNC.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.2556.0 built by: NET471REL1
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.2556.0 built by: NET471REL1
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.2556.0 built by: NET471REL1
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
OpenTK
Assembly Version: 1.1.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.1.1664.6217
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/OpenTK.DLL
----------------------------------------
System.Configuration
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.2556.0 built by: NET471REL1
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Core
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.2633.0 built by: NET471REL1LAST_C
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.2612.0 built by: NET471REL1LAST_B
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------
槭唗˾洦岡ˆ睘
Assembly Version: 0.0.65535.65535
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/UCCNC.exe
----------------------------------------
OpenTK.GLControl
Assembly Version: 1.1.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.1.1664.6217
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/OpenTK.GLControl.DLL
----------------------------------------
OpenTK.Compatibility
Assembly Version: 1.1.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.1.1664.6217
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/OpenTK.Compatibility.DLL
----------------------------------------
ILCalc
Assembly Version: 0.9.7.5
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/UCCNC.exe
----------------------------------------
zrsx5jlr
Assembly Version: 0.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.2556.0 built by: NET471REL1
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
Plugininterface
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/Plugininterface.DLL
----------------------------------------
AutoLevelerCA
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/Plugins/AutoLevelerCA.dll
----------------------------------------
Console
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/Plugins/Console.dll
----------------------------------------
Debugger
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/Plugins/Debugger.dll
----------------------------------------
Diagnostics
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/Plugins/Diagnostics.dll
----------------------------------------
HYPLUGIN
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/Plugins/HYPLUGIN.dll
----------------------------------------
Laserengrave
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/Plugins/Laserengrave.dll
----------------------------------------
Lubricator
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/Plugins/Lubricator.dll
----------------------------------------
Modbusmaster
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/Plugins/Modbusmaster.dll
----------------------------------------
Pin1
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/Plugins/Pin1.dll
----------------------------------------
Plugintest
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/Plugins/Plugintest.dll
----------------------------------------
Printer3D
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/Plugins/Printer3D.dll
----------------------------------------
Profiler
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/Plugins/Profiler.dll
----------------------------------------
Scope
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/Plugins/Scope.dll
----------------------------------------
UCCAM
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/Plugins/UCCAM.dll
----------------------------------------
UCCNC_OSK
Assembly Version: 1.5.2.0
Win32 Version: 1.5.2.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/Plugins/UCCNC_OSK.dll
----------------------------------------
Webcamera
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/Plugins/Webcamera.dll
----------------------------------------
Wizards
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.1
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.1
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/Plugins/Wizards.dll
----------------------------------------
Xbox360controller
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/Plugins/Xbox360controller.dll
----------------------------------------
XHC-HB04_pendant
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/UCCNC/Plugins/XHC-HB04_pendant.dll
----------------------------------------
gvprid32
Assembly Version: 0.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.2556.0 built by: NET471REL1
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
<system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1143
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Maximum g-code file size?

Postby cncdrive » Tue Feb 27, 2018 1:17 pm

Thanks for the info.
I'm not sure what the issue exactly is, but had one idea what might be causing it.
I've made a UCCNC.exe for a test, attaching it to the post.
Could you please unzip it and replace the UCCNC.exe file and test it if this resolves the problem?
Attachments
UCCNC.zip
(4.13 MiB) Downloaded 57 times
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2260
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: Maximum g-code file size?

Postby ger21 » Tue Feb 27, 2018 2:29 pm

I'll test when I get home. The issue is with the editor, if you try to close it or do something when it's "busy", it gives you the error.
Once the error occurs, you can no longer close the file from UCCNC.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1143
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Maximum g-code file size?

Postby cncdrive » Tue Feb 27, 2018 3:47 pm

Gerry, ok, thanks.
OK, I understand what you saying, I just don't know how to do what you saying. :)
LEt me describe: At the moment I have only Windows 7 computers with x64 architecture and enough RAM and good enough graphics card to load files like this.
The issue is that as I see all of these computers and OS do the same when loading something in the file editor, they just freeze the editor when the text is copied into the Richtextbox on the editor, which is fine, because it is one line of command and it has to be done on the UI thread, because the Form controls are part of the UI, so it can't be done in backgroundworkers etc. so it is understandable that windows is then freezing the application for some time because the command require a longer amount of time to execute. But the issue is that I see no way to then close the editor window, other than asking Windows to close the UCCNC altogether. So, why I can't reproduce this issue is because I could not find a way to do what you telling to do to reproduce it, I can't close the editor when it is busy, it seems to be impossible on these Win7 computers.
What OS are you running which allows you to do that?
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2260
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

PreviousNext

Return to General discussion about the UCCNC software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests