Twin Spindle machine, how to do tool center offset?

Post anything you want to discuss with others about the software.

Twin Spindle machine, how to do tool center offset?

Postby Dennis CNC » Fri May 10, 2019 3:33 am

Looking for advice on how to manage a twin spindle type router.

One idea was to have a macro that executes a G55 when tool 2 is called.

Another idea was to have a G55 for tool 2 in post processor when tool selected.

Any other tips?


Thanks

Dennis
Dennis CNC
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 1:29 am

Re: Twin Spindle machine, how to do tool center offset?

Postby ger21 » Fri May 10, 2019 10:57 am

On the machine I'm building, I plan on using G52, and calling it with my tool change macro.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1546
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Twin Spindle machine, how to do tool center offset?

Postby Battwell » Fri May 10, 2019 11:14 am

i use g52 on my machines. one has 3 router heads, 24 drills vertical and 12 horizontal.
all good fun!
use a known point as your reference for all.
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: Twin Spindle machine, how to do tool center offset?

Postby Dennis CNC » Tue May 14, 2019 2:03 am

Is it possible to see a few lines of code using g52 is this way...

Lets assume Spindle #1 is a non bottom cutting endmill
Spindle #2 is a drill and is off in the X +5" , Y is same as endmill.


x0 y0 position of start hole drilled by spindle #2
...
x0y0 spindle #1 needs to start cutting in the drilled hole since the endmill can't plunge cut
...

Thank you for the help.
Dennis CNC
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 1:29 am

Re: Twin Spindle machine, how to do tool center offset?

Postby ger21 » Tue May 14, 2019 11:24 am

You apply the offset during the tool change, so your g-code is the same for either tool.

In your tool change macro, for the second spindle, you'd just do a G52 X5 (or G52 X-5), and when you go back to the second spindle, you do a G52 X0.

You need a system where certain tool numbers are assigned to one spindle, and certain numbers assigned to the second spindle.
Then the macro can call the G52 based on the tool number.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1546
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Twin Spindle machine, how to do tool center offset?

Postby Dennis CNC » Tue May 14, 2019 9:23 pm

Gerry,

Ok got it !!
Dennis CNC
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 1:29 am


Return to General discussion about the UCCNC software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests