Need more inputs. Don't need more outputs.

This Section is for users to discuss hardware

Re: Need more inputs. Don't need more outputs.

Postby Gary Campbell » Sun Jan 22, 2017 1:27 pm

Food for thought as you go forward in your development... and possibly as you would promote UCCNC as a replacement for many aging proprietary controllers:

"And so we standing at 6 to 8 inputs only."

Consider ATC and or milling machines that may have the following:

hi/lo limits on 4 axes: 8 (7 if rotary)
for TC spindle, air present, toolbar eject, tool present, overheat 4
VFD: up to speed, stopped, over current 3
tool length, probe, edge sensor: 3
axis adjust: up, down 2
material lift pallet: at height, empty 2
rotary tool carousel: limit, position available 2-13

I commonly set up systems with 10-12 inputs and occasionally use more
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
gcnc411(at)gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos
Gary Campbell
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 8:25 pm

Re: Need more inputs. Don't need more outputs.

Postby cncdrive » Wed Feb 01, 2017 2:54 pm

The UC300ETH-5LPT has 49 digital inputs and 36 digital outputs which I think should be enough for any avarage setup, even if the machine has ATC and other things.
Also the UCCNC talks Modbus, so that could be used to further extend the number of I/Os for non time critical things and then it is possible to switch those I/Os from macros or plugins.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: Need more inputs. Don't need more outputs.

Postby DonKes » Fri Feb 03, 2017 5:23 pm

Why not build a motherboard that has 10 or so buffered inputs and 20 or so buffered outputs and a couple of 5LPT type ports.

It would get my $$$.

Don
DonKes
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 10:50 pm

Re: Need more inputs. Don't need more outputs.

Postby cncdrive » Sat Feb 04, 2017 1:12 am

The -5LPT motherboard has 36 buffered outputs.
Buffering the inputs would make not much sense though.

Probably you wanted to say optocoupled and not buffered though?!
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: Need more inputs. Don't need more outputs.

Postby ger21 » Sat Feb 04, 2017 1:56 am

I'm using the MB2 breakout board with the UC300ETH, which gives you 22 inputs and 14 outputs, all at 24V. It also has differential step and direction for 6 motors, analog spindle speed output, and two relays.
Hard to beat for $160 (delivered to the US). http://www.cncroom.com/break-out-board/smooth-stepper
I plan on mounting the UC300ETH right to the MB2.

UC300-MB2.jpg
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1155
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Need more inputs. Don't need more outputs.

Postby DonKes » Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:09 am

cncdrive wrote:The -5LPT motherboard has 36 buffered outputs.
Buffering the inputs would make not much sense though.

Probably you wanted to say optocoupled and not buffered though?!


I saw all of the chips on the 5LPT and thought they would be, but my inquiries could not confirm that.

I am glad to know it.

Don
DonKes
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 10:50 pm

Re: Need more inputs. Don't need more outputs.

Postby Battwell » Mon Feb 06, 2017 2:08 am

Arduinos run perfectly from modbus- as many as you want to add.
I used Megas here to give extra 50 io per board- including analogue in and out

I have all the code for them- I've adapted from the work peter schilling did to make them work with Mach 3 modbus
https://youtu.be/7-T4hNrYVa4
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 383
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: Need more inputs. Don't need more outputs.

Postby VeraGalvin » Tue Sep 04, 2018 5:18 pm

Hi...i am a new user here. As per my knowledge you can't attach an output type function to an input type pin and vica versa in the UCCNC.If you do that then the software will check it when you will hit the Apply settings and will reset the pin setting to zero if the direction of the selected pin is not correct for the function.
VeraGalvin
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 4:56 pm

Previous

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests