P5 AC drive control

This Section is for users to discuss hardware

P5 AC drive control

Postby Spinweight » Thu Jan 24, 2019 8:14 pm

This is my first post for a new installation of UC300Eth and Gecko drives into a Gerber Sabre 408 router with an IDM Controls Inc. P5 Series General Purpose AC Drive.
Here is the manual. https://manualzz.com/doc/7291098/p5--inverter-manual
This is my first time building a system like this and have never worked with servo's before.
I need to identify the 3 control wires and connect them to UCCNC. Cannot tell which wire is which to assign ports. Should I connect to a digital or analogue port?

Thank you for your help.
-Chris

Control Method
Sine wave PWM with full-range, automatic torque boost
Frequency Control Range
0.1 to 400 Hz
Frequency Accuracy
Digital command: 0.01%, Analog command: 0.1%
Frequency Setting
Resolution
Digital Operator Reference: 0.1Hz,
Analog Reference: 0.06Hz (@60Hz)
Output Freq Resolution
0.01 Hz
Frequency Setting
0 to +10VDC (20k
Ω
), 4-20mA (250
Ω
)
Accel/Decel Time
0.0 to 3600.0 sec.
(Accel/Decel time setting independently: 0.1 sec )
Braking Torque
Approx. 20%
No. of V-f Patterns
1 preset V/f pattern and 1 custom pattern
Spinweight

Re: P5 AC drive control

Postby Spinweight » Tue Feb 05, 2019 7:41 pm

I've been studying the manual for my VFD and for UCCNC and UC300 and found some answers. I've learned how to get the PWM signal to the VFD and have it recognize and display the frequency reference. I've also found the open/close = start/stop circuit. But I can't get it to run. There is a setting in the VFD that is wrong somewhere and I cannot find it. I don't know how to setup this drive and need help.
Spinweight

Re: P5 AC drive control

Postby cncdrive » Tue Feb 05, 2019 8:07 pm

My answers to you in email: