How to probe for point cloud to make surface in Rhino

Here is where you can drop off Examples of WORKING macros,plugins,Gcode programs , macro Wizards etc.
Please give a brief description of what it is and how it works.

How to probe for point cloud to make surface in Rhino

Postby AvB » Sun Aug 26, 2018 6:50 am

Hey guys I'm new to the forum and have very recently changed over from Mach3 to UCCNC (and huge thanks to Balazs and Gerry who've helped enormously ... and to my engineer friend Geoff who was able to complete the installation - I couldn't have done it without such help).

I am taking unevenly shaped pieces of wood (old timber slabs) to make signs from them. We want to leave the natural uneven shape, and engrave lettering on them. So I would like to be able to probe and create a point cloud from the surfaces. How would you recommend doing this? Gerry suggested using the autoleveler plugin, but I don’t understand how you would use that.

Firstly I need to have some sort of UCCNC plugin to create the file of points from probing a specified area. And also if anyone has any ideas I'm using Rhino and could use some advice on a method/ software etc that can drape a surface over the point cloud.
AvB
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2018 6:36 am

Re: How to probe for point cloud to make surface in Rhino

Postby Robertspark » Sun Aug 26, 2018 11:05 am

Rob
Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
...working my way through the 1000+ ways things don't work to find the one that does
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2106, Neuron Lite
UCCNC v1.2105 Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 981
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: How to probe for point cloud to make surface in Rhino

Postby ger21 » Sun Aug 26, 2018 12:34 pm

That example video is old, and I believe the process is a little different now??

Andrew, here's a (probably) simpler way than using the autoleveler plugin.
Open Mach3, and go to Wizards, and run the Digitize Wizard. When finished, go to Edit G-code, and add an M41 before the M30 at the end.

Code: Select all
G0X0Y0Z0
M41
M30


Then save the file, so you can load it into UCCNC.
Load it into UCCNC, and run the g-code to digitize your part and create the point cloud. By default, the point cloud is save in C:\UCCNC\Example_Codes\ as digitize.txt

That's all there is to it.

(I found an omission in the 2017 screenset that doesn't allow you to change the path. If your UCCNC is not installed in C:\UCCNC, let me know, and I'll tell you what you need to do)

In Rhino, load the point cloud and use the Patch command. Watch this video, starting at about 6:10.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TTubIMSMjOw
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1143
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: How to probe for point cloud to make surface in Rhino

Postby Vmax549 » Sun Aug 26, 2018 7:06 pm

Now if someone would just create a surface probing Wizard for UCCNC :P

(;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1297
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: How to probe for point cloud to make surface in Rhino

Postby AvB » Sun Aug 26, 2018 9:23 pm

Ah, great, I will try that thanks Gerry! Due to the new configuration my spindle won't work in Mach3 but that won't affect probing. Cheers. (I still need to buy the probe).
AvB
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2018 6:36 am

Re: How to probe for point cloud to make surface in Rhino

Postby cncdrive » Mon Aug 27, 2018 3:19 pm

You can start collecting probe points using the M40 macro and can stop collection and save to file with the M41 macro.
The file and point file parameters you can set on the Tools/Probe page of the UCCNC.

And you can use the Autoleveler plugin to surface map a g-code file to a probed surface.
cncdrive
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2260
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:17 pm


Return to UCCNC TOOL BOX

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests