Sharing Plugin Code

This is where you talk about Plugins. How they are made and how they work, show examples.

Sharing Plugin Code

Postby 1.21gigawatts » Fri Dec 24, 2021 6:15 pm

Is there a place where plugin writers are sharing their code? I'm getting started writing a plugin, and going through the documentation and forum posts, I see a LOT of comments that go something like, "You just have to figure it out from the documentation (user provided) and the (ONE!) sample file."

Now, don't get me wrong, I have been designing hardware since the mid 1970s and writing software since 1978 (Z80 assembly code). Much of what I have done is by following examples, and that's very often the best way to put the information in the manuals into some context that makes sense. But in this case, there's only a single C# project and, while that's a pretty good example, it doesn't demonstrate every function.

So what I'm asking about here is whether anyone else would care to share their plugin projects. For sure, I will share mine when there's something worth sharing. How about the rest of you? [Mostly] all of the plugins I've seen are non-commercial (as mine will be), and I don't see any obstacles to sharing and cooperating - if nothing else to save time on the learning curve. It would also lead to better quality as people share what they've figured out.

Anyway, that's what I'm thinking this afternoon. I welcome your thoughts.

Oh, and HO HO HO to you all.
1.21gigawatts

Re: Sharing Plugin Code

Postby eabrust » Fri Dec 24, 2021 7:47 pm

Hi gigawatts,

I'd be happy to package up and share code examples. One of the problems is its pretty easy for a Vis. Studio solution package to be larger than the upload limit for the forum.