Cutter Radius Compensation ( G40 , G41 , G42 )

Here is where you can request new features or special features.

Cutter Radius Compensation ( G40 , G41 , G42 )

Postby Robertspark » Wed Sep 14, 2016 7:01 am

G40 cancel cutter radius compensation
G41 start cutter radius compensation left
G42 start cutter radius compensation right

bit of detail in here: http://www.precisebits.com/PDF/RS274NGC_3%20(1).pdf

will help with wizards and macros.
Rob

Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2046, Neuron Lite.
UCCNC Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 617
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: Cutter Radius Compensation ( G40 , G41 , G42 )

Postby ger21 » Wed Sep 14, 2016 3:47 pm

Robertspark wrote:
will help with wizards and macros.


And everything else. I use cutter compensation for almost everything I do.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 854
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Cutter Radius Compensation ( G40 , G41 , G42 )

Postby Vmax549 » Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:12 pm

Don't forget with tool Comp you MUST have a decent tool table to support it :D

AND if you have to create a tool table you might as well make it a GOOD ONE with all the bells an whistles for future feature support.

(;-) TP
Attachments
UCcncToolManagement.jpg
UCCNC ToolTable.jpg
Vmax549
 
Posts: 740
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Cutter Radius Compensation ( G40 , G41 , G42 )

Postby Robertspark » Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:15 pm

I was having a look at the tool table last night via the screen editor, could it not be a multi array?

Hence the various values could be obtained from the index?
Rob

Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2046, Neuron Lite.
UCCNC Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 617
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: Cutter Radius Compensation ( G40 , G41 , G42 )

Postby Robertspark » Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:18 pm

The tool table could then be milling, drilling turning and plasma tools all via multidimensional array.... easy to keep track of the stored values....
Rob

Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2046, Neuron Lite.
UCCNC Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 617
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: Cutter Radius Compensation ( G40 , G41 , G42 )

Postby ger21 » Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:21 pm

For router users, diameter is all that's really needed for comp.
But I guess if they're going to add it, make everyone happy.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 854
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Cutter Radius Compensation ( G40 , G41 , G42 )

Postby Vmax549 » Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:25 pm

ROUTER :o Whats that ??? Isn't it one of those network thingies for ethernet :twisted: I think I have one for the printers here.

(;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 740
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Cutter Radius Compensation ( G40 , G41 , G42 )

Postby Robertspark » Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:30 pm

At the moment they are stored as individual values, because I had a look at extending the present tool table to hold the other values for plasma (voltage, feedrate, pierce delay), but realised unless they were a multidimensional array, keeping track of the vales would be a pain in the rear

Kerf, pierce and cut height tend to be fixed
Rob

Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself”
UC400eth, UC300eth, UCCNC v1.2046, Neuron Lite.
UCCNC Macro Manual
Robertspark
 
Posts: 617
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm
Location: Nr Liverpool, England

Re: Cutter Radius Compensation ( G40 , G41 , G42 )

Postby Vmax549 » Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:54 pm

Hi Robert, YOU have the right Idea. I did a table and Table view that could be changed on the fly depending on WHAT type of Machine it was. It was different for MIL vs Plasma VS Turn,etc. It simply changed teh Value NAMES (;-). BUT that also requires that UCCNC knows what TYPE of machine it is (;-) Another option BOX to check (;-)

In Mach3 I just input teh plasma values into teh tool table as it was Because you could not change it anyway. It did NOT matter what teh value was called as long as I could extract teh value.

SO in plasma when it did a tool change T3M6 teh macro took the table values and programed the THC for that specific tool# . In SheetCam I set up teh tool table to match Plasma Mach3 then export form sheetcam and import into Mach3 Plasma. Presto changeO

I did create and import/ export tool table for UCcnc BUT there is really NOTHING to import/export :D

AND I did do as you started to do EXTEND teh values in the current tool offset page to have all teh needed values . THAT was a BEAST for anything more than say 10 tools. I would NOT want to have to support that in UCCNC across all users and machine types :o It would be a screen builders nightmare.

(;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 740
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Cutter Radius Compensation ( G40 , G41 , G42 )

Postby ger21 » Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:23 pm

If UCCNC is going to keep adding features, I think that they should think very hard about moving some things out of the screenset, and into some Windows forms.
Tooltable being #1 on that list.
Some of the general settings that don't typically get changed should also move out of the screenset, imo.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 854
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Next

Return to Feature Request

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests