Cutter Radius Compensation ( G40 , G41 , G42 )

Here is where you can request new features or special features.

Re: Cutter Radius Compensation ( G40 , G41 , G42 )

Postby Battwell » Sat Dec 23, 2017 2:17 pm

tested it on the piece i would be making with it (dxf i sent for testing) while it doesnt gouge-as mach3 does etc. it throws a warning for that point and ignores it-
so the outside profile wouldnt be correct :-(
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: Cutter Radius Compensation ( G40 , G41 , G42 )

Postby Battwell » Sat Dec 23, 2017 2:20 pm

dxf-fail at small segment.jpg
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: Cutter Radius Compensation ( G40 , G41 , G42 )

Postby Battwell » Sat Dec 23, 2017 2:44 pm

g42fail.jpg


i tried lengthening one segment to way over tool diameter- but still no joy-
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: Cutter Radius Compensation ( G40 , G41 , G42 )

Postby ger21 » Sat Dec 23, 2017 4:09 pm

I just took a quick look, and there are a few things I noticed.

Typically, comp is applied during the lead in, and removed during the lead out. You are comping without a leadin, which is fine, as long as the user understands it. Our Morbidelli does it this way.

Outside Corners.
This is a major issue. When comping an outside corner, the tool should "roll around" the corner, with the actual toolpath having a radius equal to the tool radius. This needs to be changed, imo. As it is now, when you are cutting parts, the tool will stop at every outside corner. This is not desirable at all. :cry:

Also, there appears to be a couple bugs.
I edited my code while playing around, and got a warning. After changing the code back, the warning persisted, until I zeroed my axis, and reloaded the toolpath.

And I'm seeing an issue when editing the g-code where the Z axis DRO's start counting, and don't stop until hitting reset twice.
Gerry
UCCNC 2017 Screenset - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html
ger21
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Cutter Radius Compensation ( G40 , G41 , G42 )

Postby Battwell » Sat Dec 23, 2017 4:55 pm

i compd with a lead in/out on both attempts. in the second id zoomed in more to show the missed segment- which turns into a ramp between points it couldnt calculate.
i had imported the on line code from vectric and manually added the leads.
this will be an issue if there is a small segment off the main line.- but at least it doesnt attempt and gouge like mach3 does ;-)
this has shown up in every "hobby control" i have tried. linux, dynamotion, mach etc- by that i mean not big oem manufacturer controls.
radius offsetting is going to be a very hard one to get "perfect" as balacz says- there are just too many variables.
but the diameter settings in the tool table are nice to have- especially for machining centres where the macros can adjust feeds etc for big drills and so on !
im going to uccnc one of my other biesse point to point after the christmas holidays. the last one with mach/galil has been ok for panel work- but uccnc will make the next one so much better! :-)
Uc300eth on router and mill
If they say it can't be done- I find a way!
Battwell
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:39 pm
Location: South Wales. Uk

Re: Cutter Radius Compensation ( G40 , G41 , G42 )

Postby Vmax549 » Sun Dec 24, 2017 1:10 am

I ran a quick test running it with subs 10 layers deep and no problems so far (;-)

It also understands Inc programming very well (;-)

(;-) TP
Vmax549
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:25 am
Location: USA

Previous

Return to Feature Request

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest