Page 1 of 1

G43 XYZ

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2023 10:26 pm
by hmnijp
I looked at the list of 1.2116 updates:
- - Tool offset X was added to support lathes.

I would also like to advise adding a Y offset (why wasn’t this done right away?)

Firstly, it is also useful for turning machines (with X-Y axes or driven tool in a lathe turret)
B038TToolingZone-1024x1019.jpg


Secondly, it is convenient for milling machines, example:
- multi-spindle configurations
Hbadac6f5ba30453ab216359869076b85l.jpg

2023-11-02 02-07-54.jpg

- angular heads (90 degrees milling, drilling or saws head)
2023-11-02 02-04-18.jpg

- measuring probes on mechanical arms
2023-11-02 01-55-02.jpg

2023-11-02 01-46-44.jpg


in all cases they are called as the tool number and offset G43 XYZ is used, this basicly functionality is available in many CNC systems....

Now this has to be done by writing macros that save the original wcs (for all g54-g59), change them for some tool, and then return them back, which generates errors if the code suddenly breaks and some of these steps are skipped. Although you could just use standard G43 with X-Y-Z offsets.

Re: G43 XYZ

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2023 10:57 pm
by cncdrive
Hehe, this is what we were talking about with the collegues that if we add X offset then if anybody will notice it it will be because there is no Y offset.
We were right. :D
Well, maybe the next release will have it as we can't add all features in a single release because it would create too much possibility for errors and then it is harder to debug...

Re: G43 XYZ

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2023 11:49 am
by Battwell
use g52 for all temporary offsets. works well

Re: G43 XYZ

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2023 7:33 pm
by hmnijp
Battwell wrote:use g52 for all temporary offsets. works well

Yes.. you can use this, but g52 is the wcs offset.. using it for tool offset is a crutch.
It's better to have something designed for this, as with most CNCs.

And using G52 for tool offset - you lose the opportunity to use G52 for its intended purpose - patterns, multiple-setup, rough offsets, etc.

Also, to quickly correct the offset in your case, you need to correct the macro. g43 offset can be changed simply in the tool table.

Re: G43 XYZ

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2023 10:11 am
by Battwell
most people use cam to generate code these days.
i know nobody except myself that uses hand written code now.
my machines have drill blocks, lasers etc all offset with g52. works fine every time.

https://youtu.be/jkreCyShaqM?si=sgxVlC1XV9attzjF

Re: G43 XYZ

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2024 1:11 pm
by pinoy-cnc
following this.... i am also thinking on how to wire this on UCCNC board...
i have also this 9 station drilling head beside my ATC spindle, i done this with Masso G3 controller and i would like to do this on UCCNC but i don't know to wired this.

my plan is try first with 3 head spindle because the concept is almost the same. maybe you can help on this guys...

https://youtu.be/zJwryrsPOaI

here is video that i have done using masso controller.


Thank you

Rex

Re: G43 XYZ

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2024 8:16 pm
by Battwell
pinoy-cnc wrote:following this.... i am also thinking on how to wire this on UCCNC board...
i have also this 9 station drilling head beside my ATC spindle, i done this with Masso G3 controller and i would like to do this on UCCNC but i don't know to wired this.

my plan is try first with 3 head spindle because the concept is almost the same. maybe you can help on this guys...

https://youtu.be/zJwryrsPOaI

here is video that i have done using masso controller.


Thank you

Rex


https://youtu.be/97FKv3mbAH0?si=vHJ4bAGd2gu5WoLF

a lot of things need to be changed to achive this nicely. this is my drilling modifications running on uccnc. using g52 to do the offsetting.
this shows it repeating to 1 point
https://youtu.be/jkreCyShaqM?si=-lIJBEjCrfVlqgNg